Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
The broth is the key; I make it a little more hearty by adding sweet sausage(1lb), leeks(3) and orzo pasta(half a box).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
An awesome recipe. I use less butter and its still very very good. Otherwise, don't mess with this great broth recipe! I also use this as a soup base for cioppino and gumbo which let me add more "ingredients" for a more complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I get so mad when people rate recipes and change them, but that's what I did this time. (But, at least I didn't change the recipe and give it a low rating - not fair!) I'm giving this 5 stars because it gave me such a GREAT base to work with! I don't care for rosemary, so I omitted it and I added carrots, celery (instead of the seed) and onions. I didn't have any clam juice, but boiled the shrimp shells in the broth to give it more seafood flavor and I only used half the butter. Not exactly as written I know, but that's what's so great about this site, it lets those creative juices flow to suit each individual taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Extremely good - but very time consuming. Save the leftover broth for another day and all you'll need to do is simmer it and add shrimp... and you have another meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I didn't care much for this recipe. Once it was done, I added several different items so we could eat it. I was true to the receipe but it just didn't meet my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This has a wonderfully unique broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Lose most of the butter and it is fantastic! There is a need for butter for the richness of the soup but 2-3 tablespoons is plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
fantastic broth, I added two cans of clams for a little extra meat. Sopped it up with lots of warm french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndiPhotoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Great recipe. Way too much butter. 1/4 to 1/2 cup unsalted butter is best. Add 1 tbsp of crushed red peppers to it or one crushed habeneroto add heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My husband and I are BIG fans of this restaurant. We no longer live in the area so I was thrilled to find this recipe! It was wonderful, but I made a few changes after reading previous reviews. I used 1/4 cup butter and think I still could've gone less. Added red pepper flakes and old bay seasoning. Didn't have fennel or celery seed, but added chopped celery. Fresh rosemary. I used medium shrimp but really missed the big ones that the restaurant served. Overall, a very good version. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States