Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I have made this twice now and still not completely satisfied...I had eaten at the KS in Studio City since about 1996 and I am still looking for that "UMPH" in this recipe. I added to much tomato paste the 1st time and to much fennel the 1st time. I see that people say the recipe calls for to much butter, yet I think that may be the key for the "creaminess" th KS recipe had. The 2nd time I made it I added no fennel at all, lots more rosemary, crushed red pepper and less butter. I found the enitre recipe WAY TO SALTY and that killed it for me (no Pun) and I could not figure out to fix it. Sodium free broth I suppose. So my point is, it is not perfect - almost there but still missing something. I am going to keep on trying and I think next time no celery seed either. Anybody have any hints?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I too am a big fan of the original Killer Shrimp and have achieved a nearly identical flavor through years of experimentation. This recipe as given has several points that will cause it to deviate from the real KS taste. (1) Too much butter. It should be 1 stick (1/2 cup) at the most and some people may find they would rather use less. (2) The shrimp MUST have the whole skin on. The flavor that the shrimp peels adds to the mix is essential, yet indefinable. (3) Double the amount of clam juice to 16 oz (4) reduce the rosemary by 1/3 and double the amount of fennel, add 1 tsp dried thyme (5) reduce the tomato paste to 3 TBSP (6) add salt, preferably sea salt (7) add 1 tsp of red pepper flakes (or to taste) (8) add hot sauce to taste. Finally, there is a secret ingredient involved, which I am not prepared to divulge. But the above will get you close. Another reader stated she made this without fennel---without fennel it is not killer shrimp---it's just soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I couldn't tell if I liked it or hated it. I think if you like V8 juice, you will probably like this recipe. I'm not a big fan of V8. I thought it had an ok flavor, but I don' think I would make it again. Perhaps, it's because I ate it on a hot, 92 degrees day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelayna
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent, although I did add a lot more red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
FANTASTIC! I was so impressed with how good this shrimp dish turned out and how easy it was. My whole family, including 2 and 4 y.o. gave it 5 stars. I did get started a little late in the day so only simmered 1 1/2 hrs after adding wine. Just as great. Also sauteed the shrimp with a little hot sauce, garlic and italian spices to give it some flavor. Only need 1/2 c. butter. It turned out perfect. Not to spicy for the little ones. We served this with french bread for dipping and a side salad. I will be keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Loved this soup!! Before I added the shrimp, I used my submersion blender to whizz it and make it homogeneous. Which really made it creamy, no oil floating on top. I used 3/4c up butter, and might use less next time. I used shell-on shrimp which definitely adds flavor but just made it messy to eat. Next time I will use peeled shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Exactly like I remember it! The only thing I add is crushed red pepper. I made this for a couple of friends and now they ask for it every time they come for dinner. So easy to make since all the time is just letting it simmer. LOVE THIS SOUP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I only added 1/2 cup of butter, i sauteed the shrimp the night before in white wine and tonnes of spices, then used the broth from it in the soup. I also added some potatoes, celery and onion...it was AMAZING!! Simmer with th lid on, and let the time pass completely...dont rush this soup!! Also, take the tails off the shrimp ...eat with fresh bakes french bread...OMG YUM!! Enjoy everyone!! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARLEENC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
First of all, we live in Marina del Rey and have eaten at Killer Shrimp at least 50 times. The title of this recipe is mislabeled in that this recipe is called a "soup," where in fact it is a recipe for a dipping "broth." The restaurant serves shell-on shrimp in the broth along with french bread for dipping. The shrimp is eaten with your fingers like peel-and-eat shrimp. No spoons involved nor carrots, celery, onions or mushrooms. This is not a soup! That being said, if you add red pepper flakes to this recipe and reduce the tomato paste, this is a tasty and very close version of Killer's "broth."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I've been to Killer Shrimp they're in studio city too, but somethign that help with the flavor to develop is to cook it two hours then let it sit overnight and cook 2 hours before serving. lots of time, but it really helps the flavors to meld. Also this is great with rice or pasta with frech bread of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States