Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent, although I did add a lot more red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
FANTASTIC! I was so impressed with how good this shrimp dish turned out and how easy it was. My whole family, including 2 and 4 y.o. gave it 5 stars. I did get started a little late in the day so only simmered 1 1/2 hrs after adding wine. Just as great. Also sauteed the shrimp with a little hot sauce, garlic and italian spices to give it some flavor. Only need 1/2 c. butter. It turned out perfect. Not to spicy for the little ones. We served this with french bread for dipping and a side salad. I will be keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Loved this soup!! Before I added the shrimp, I used my submersion blender to whizz it and make it homogeneous. Which really made it creamy, no oil floating on top. I used 3/4c up butter, and might use less next time. I used shell-on shrimp which definitely adds flavor but just made it messy to eat. Next time I will use peeled shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Exactly like I remember it! The only thing I add is crushed red pepper. I made this for a couple of friends and now they ask for it every time they come for dinner. So easy to make since all the time is just letting it simmer. LOVE THIS SOUP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I only added 1/2 cup of butter, i sauteed the shrimp the night before in white wine and tonnes of spices, then used the broth from it in the soup. I also added some potatoes, celery and onion...it was AMAZING!! Simmer with th lid on, and let the time pass completely...dont rush this soup!! Also, take the tails off the shrimp ...eat with fresh bakes french bread...OMG YUM!! Enjoy everyone!! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARLEENC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
First of all, we live in Marina del Rey and have eaten at Killer Shrimp at least 50 times. The title of this recipe is mislabeled in that this recipe is called a "soup," where in fact it is a recipe for a dipping "broth." The restaurant serves shell-on shrimp in the broth along with french bread for dipping. The shrimp is eaten with your fingers like peel-and-eat shrimp. No spoons involved nor carrots, celery, onions or mushrooms. This is not a soup! That being said, if you add red pepper flakes to this recipe and reduce the tomato paste, this is a tasty and very close version of Killer's "broth."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I've been to Killer Shrimp they're in studio city too, but somethign that help with the flavor to develop is to cook it two hours then let it sit overnight and cook 2 hours before serving. lots of time, but it really helps the flavors to meld. Also this is great with rice or pasta with frech bread of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
The broth is the key; I make it a little more hearty by adding sweet sausage(1lb), leeks(3) and orzo pasta(half a box).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
An awesome recipe. I use less butter and its still very very good. Otherwise, don't mess with this great broth recipe! I also use this as a soup base for cioppino and gumbo which let me add more "ingredients" for a more complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I get so mad when people rate recipes and change them, but that's what I did this time. (But, at least I didn't change the recipe and give it a low rating - not fair!) I'm giving this 5 stars because it gave me such a GREAT base to work with! I don't care for rosemary, so I omitted it and I added carrots, celery (instead of the seed) and onions. I didn't have any clam juice, but boiled the shrimp shells in the broth to give it more seafood flavor and I only used half the butter. Not exactly as written I know, but that's what's so great about this site, it lets those creative juices flow to suit each individual taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States