Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I had some family members over and tried this great recipe and they absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Didn't like recipe. I cut the butter in half and used red pepper flakes. Maybe I did something wrong cause it has a lot of good reviews. We did eat it but, I don't think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Best shrimp soup we ever made! Thank you so much for the recipe... I love this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and still used all of the shrimp. My roommates loved it and I did reduce the butter. I served it with chopped cilantro for garnish and it was gobbled up with a loaf of French bread and some latkas -- NOTHING left! My roommate suggested I put in green Chayote squash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Excellent flavor! My husband & I are fans of this recipe, as it reminds us of one of his favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I've never had the original "Killer Shrimp" so I can't compare. And honestly, does anything you make at home ever really compare to the stuff they serve at your favorite restaurant? Not in my experience. Anyway, I cut back on the broth, and added more tomato paste. I also omitted the celery seed because I didn't have any. Though I used less rosemary than called for, I would cut back on it further if I were to make this again - I found it a little overpowering. This turned out great though - and I definitely recommend some nice bread for dipping in the sauce/broth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
this wasnt quite "it" I too miss killer shrimp. melt the stick of butter in the cooking pot, chop 1/2 of a small white onion, mince the 5 cloves of garlic and sautee in the butter until fragrant. Add all spices in this recipe adding 1 tsp thyme 2 tbsp kosher salt (i used low sodim broth and it was not salty) and 1 tbsp red pepper flakes to the sautee. add all other ingredients but substitute 3 oz of tomato paste not 6 like this recipe implies , 16 oz of clam juice and add 1/2 a lemon sliced in half and put it in broth whole. One hour is all it takes. I crockpotted mine on high for 2 hours and it was like iI was back in the K.S. in redondo beach all over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Delicious! There used to be 3 of these in the SoCal area--they first closed the Redondo Beach location, then the Studio City, and finally the Marina del Rey. If it weren't for this recipe, I would've had to rely on my memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikedlt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Gate, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I have visited the original Killer Shrimp Restuarant many times, and the staff had told me they used beer instead of wine...something to think about !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I've had a yen for Killer Shrimp and the lesser known (and now defunct) Bourbon Street Shrimp on Melrose. This recipe was a great place to start. I peeled the shells and tails from the shrimp. I "sweated" about a cup of minced celery (including leaves) and minced onion until transluscent and then a few cloves of minced garlic and sauteed for a few minutes. I added the shells and tails, chicken broth, wine, 2 tablespoons of tomato paste, lots of rosemary and fennel, salt and pepper, a good tablespoon or two of Tabasco and a bay leaf and simmered all day. I poured everything through a mesh sieve discarded solids and whisked in 3 tablespoons of butter at the end before adding the shrimp. I am delighted with the result and cannot wait to tweak it again in the very near future or whenever Henry's puts these huge shrimp on sale again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States