Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great recipe. Added diced tomatos. Put cubed avocado in bowl before pouring soup and topped with cilantro. The avocado was a great compliment to the tomato and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I had to omit some of the ingredients because I didn't have them in my pantry, but even without them, this recipe was delicious. I had to omit the celery seed, fennel seed, and clam juice. I added red pepper flakes and some cayenne pepper for a little more of a kick. Besides that I went pretty much by the recipe, just keeping an eye on it for time (ended up just simmering for a couple of hours instead of 3). Ate it with a piece of garlic bread - incredible! Can't wait to make it again. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
One thing I did do differently which I highly reccomend was to buy Shrimp with the heads still on. I pulled the heads and added them to the broth for the last two hours of simmering. It was the difference between chicken broth made from a whole chicken vs. boneless/skinless chicken breast. The Richness it added was absolutely key!!!! You can pull them out if you just can't stand the sight of them. I of course enjoy sucking them like you would a crawfish. Either way this is darned close! Still missing a mystery ingredient that I just can't put my finger on but it is just plain YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I really miss Killer Shrimp! This is very close to their recipe. I discovered if you add about 1 tsp. of Worchestire to the broth it is a bit closer to the "secret" recipe. There is one more ingredient missing and I can't quite put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Killer is right. Based on other reviews...I used beer. I peeled the shrimp then simmered the shrimp shells in the broth and strained before adding shrimp. Fresh rosemary and a few sprigs of fresh thyme as well and more garlic and fennel. I never had the original but I'm glad to have this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
OMG...........that is one of my faves!! I have missed it ever since I moved out of LA! So sad to see that the restaurant is no longer there, but glad to see you have a recipe.........cant wait to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Being a former Californian with VERY fond memories of Killer Shrimp, I couldn't wait to try this one. Like others I thought the amount of tomato paste was excessive so I cut it in half, and used beer (Corona) instead of white wine. The broth lacked the heat of the original that I remembered so fondly so I added about 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes which seemed to do the trick. I also chose to strain the broth before adding the shrimp; biting into spent herbs after all that time simmering was a little unpleasant. Overall, a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
WE LOVED IT!!! It was a huge hit. KS restaurant was a favorite place for us & I was very sorry when I heard it closed. I was craving that soupy goodness and came across this recipe which I will forever use & treasure. I made a few minor adjustments to make it my own, but all in all this is a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was the best soup I ever made, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKHEISLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Well I tried this with suggestions from others to reduce the butter used and go with no salt/low sodium. Bad idea. This dish needs the butter. I went with low sodium broth and unsalted butter but ended up with a saltless flavor. Taking advise from tree hugging people might not be a good idea. I love fattie foods and will use salted butter and not reduce it down to only 1 stick. The tomato paste was way too strong of a taste compared to the restruant and only 2 maybe 3 leveled tablespoons is needed. Other than that, this could be very very close to the original Killer Shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States