Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Very good! Very similar to a shrimp appetizer I love to make. Tastes great with fresh bread to "mop up" the broth. I did add extra garlic. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deposit, New York, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This soup is crazy good!!!! I've had it saved in my recipe box forever, and have just now got around to making it. I just cannot stress enough how insanely delicious this is. I did add red pepper flakes per other reviews, but otherwise followed recipe. If you are worried about the simmering time, let me tell you it is soooo worth it! I am smiling right now just writing this. Please make it as soon as possible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was easy to make!! I did add alittle more garlic and some red pepper flakes. We loved it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
An important step that is not spelled out in the recipe is to put a COVER the simmering broth. This will ensure the same consistency as the restaurant. Crushed pepper flakes or Frank's Red Hot will add the heat. This recipe is a great find-- The only think missing is service by a tattooed waitress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This soup was really good, especially with french bread to dip in it. It has a "high sodium" taste but the bread balanced it wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Yum! Very easy and good. I didn't include the celery seed or fennel (didn't want to buy it just for this recipe) I reduced the butter to 5 TBSP and sauted the garlic and 2 stalks of celery (since I didn't use the seed.) Then cooked as directed. I also used tailless shrimp as I didn't want to serve soup you had to peel. I served in sourdough bowls and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Photo by Butterfly Flutterby
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Outstanding!!!!! Restaurant Quality!!!! I reduced the recipe in half, and this still made plenty. I followed others suggestions and reduced the amount of butter and added some red pepper flakes; otherwise I followed the recipe. I did pinch the tails off of the shrimp before adding into the broth. This really impressed hubby. Thanks for a keeper recipe!!! Highly recommend!! I just also wanted to add that this had a rather salty taste despite using low sodium chicken broth. I will use unsalted butter next time. I will search for the lowest sodium broth in the future. Still delicious - just don't add any salt! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I stayed pretty true to this recipe w/ the exception of cutting the butter in half (it had plenty w/ just half a cup) & subbing a bit of celery salt & a rib of chopped celery for the celery seed. The only changes I will make next time is to cut the tails off the shrimp. It's seems kind of silly to serve tail-on shrimp in a soup. Oh, I also added some crushed red pepper. About a tsp...maybe two. The broth is awesome...really, really flavorful. I served this w/ Mama D's Italian bread (from this site), which was the perfect bread for dipping in the broth, Bagna cauda (from this site) w/ veggies & for dessert, strawberries w/ zabaglione (also from this site). Very enjoyable dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Maybe I did something wrong. The flavor was too strong. The herbs made it overpowering and the butter made it too greasy. I was too embarassed to serve it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelter Island, New York, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quiet_place
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Amazing blend of flavors! I halved the recipe, but otherwise followed it exactly. The soup was so delicious that we could have eaten it without the shrimp! The herb combination is just perfect. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiet_place

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States