Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
An important step that is not spelled out in the recipe is to put a COVER the simmering broth. This will ensure the same consistency as the restaurant. Crushed pepper flakes or Frank's Red Hot will add the heat. This recipe is a great find-- The only think missing is service by a tattooed waitress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This soup was really good, especially with french bread to dip in it. It has a "high sodium" taste but the bread balanced it wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Yum! Very easy and good. I didn't include the celery seed or fennel (didn't want to buy it just for this recipe) I reduced the butter to 5 TBSP and sauted the garlic and 2 stalks of celery (since I didn't use the seed.) Then cooked as directed. I also used tailless shrimp as I didn't want to serve soup you had to peel. I served in sourdough bowls and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Photo by Butterfly Flutterby
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Outstanding!!!!! Restaurant Quality!!!! I reduced the recipe in half, and this still made plenty. I followed others suggestions and reduced the amount of butter and added some red pepper flakes; otherwise I followed the recipe. I did pinch the tails off of the shrimp before adding into the broth. This really impressed hubby. Thanks for a keeper recipe!!! Highly recommend!! I just also wanted to add that this had a rather salty taste despite using low sodium chicken broth. I will use unsalted butter next time. I will search for the lowest sodium broth in the future. Still delicious - just don't add any salt! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I stayed pretty true to this recipe w/ the exception of cutting the butter in half (it had plenty w/ just half a cup) & subbing a bit of celery salt & a rib of chopped celery for the celery seed. The only changes I will make next time is to cut the tails off the shrimp. It's seems kind of silly to serve tail-on shrimp in a soup. Oh, I also added some crushed red pepper. About a tsp...maybe two. The broth is awesome...really, really flavorful. I served this w/ Mama D's Italian bread (from this site), which was the perfect bread for dipping in the broth, Bagna cauda (from this site) w/ veggies & for dessert, strawberries w/ zabaglione (also from this site). Very enjoyable dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Maybe I did something wrong. The flavor was too strong. The herbs made it overpowering and the butter made it too greasy. I was too embarassed to serve it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelter Island, New York, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quiet_place
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Amazing blend of flavors! I halved the recipe, but otherwise followed it exactly. The soup was so delicious that we could have eaten it without the shrimp! The herb combination is just perfect. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiet_place

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
We have updated this recipe due to an error in the amount of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
My brother and I used to go to the Santa Monica Killer Shrimp...I was so psyched to see this recipe! It turned out well, but here's my asterisk: I couldn't imagine using a pound of butter in this. Heaven knows there's no substitute for butter, but still...! I ended up sauteeing the garlic (and a chopped shallot, since I had some) in one stick of butter plus a tablespoon of olive oil, and even that was probably twice the fat I needed. I also agree with another reviewer that the heat could be turned up with red pepper flakes or a minced chile, but that's personal preference. Dang good shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe was close to the Killer Shrimp restaurant, however the sauce wasn't spicy enough. I will try adding crushed pepper next time to raise the heat level. This recipe was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States