Killer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Val
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
It was great! Did not measure anything...All the ingredients compliment one another for a savory, hearty chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Very good chili recipe. I followed it exactly except for the bacon which I didn't have. I was surprised that I had everything else! (Had to sub onion powder for the dried onion though). A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Must be like uncle Gus's red wine chili ... Very similar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This chili is absolutely fabulous!! Wouldn't change a thing! What else you got to offer us?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Lutterotti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very good! I cut the recipe down to 4 servings and because of this I only needed one can of beans so I went with the classic kidneys. The reason it doesn't get 5 stars from me is that there were too many pots/skillets and it tasted like it was missing something. Instead of all the dirty pans, I cooked the bacon in a dutch oven then put it aside, then put the ground turkey (I don't usually eat beef) in the same dutch oven. When it was almost cooked, I added the onion/celery/peppers. Then completed step 2, and moved on to adding the beans and seasonings. This seemed so much simpler! The missing ingredient that really rounded out the flavors was tomato paste. Will absolutely make this again, following my simple tweaks and adding the tomato paste. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is a terrific chili....made a day ahead. I made it in advance yesterday and I didn't think much of it then. Fast forward today.....YUMMY! My only change was to not overdo the prep. Brown the bacon, browned the meat and then cooked the chopped vegis in a lttle of the reserved fat. Added all the seasonings, liquids and beans and it made it so much easier. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Really good chili! I used green chiles in the chili and subbed grape juice and red wine vinegar for the wine. I changed the servings from 25 to 12 but still used a pound of bacon. This recipe doesn't need measured, just dump it all in and it will be great. The kids and everyone else ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This has to be the best Chili ever! My entire family just loves this. I have never been able to make a good chili, but this one is the best. A lot of ingredients, was a little intimidating, but worth getting all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This had a wonderful robust flavor. I only left out the brown sugar. Oh, and added extra garlic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB3267

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great Chili. I too was a little afraid of all the ingredients. I had to buy several of them. But it was a great bowl of chili. We make again. Going to freeze some and see how to taste later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States