Killer Bacon-Cheese Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Excellent and easy hot dog! We didn't have any swiss cheese so we just used a grated cheese blend instead! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
i gave it a 4 out of 5 simply because i didnt have onions its fabulous without them so i knw it would be killer if i had some..i split my hotdogs and stuffed them with string chees its what i had on hand. wrapped in bacon and cooked on th george foreman grill its great the bbq sauce makes it tangy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
A fun weekend food. It was too cold to grill today so I assembled these slightly different. I just tossed the bacon and onion in a fry pan for a few minutes, with the hot dogs. I assembled the buns, cheese, hotdogs, onion bacon and bbq sauce then I broiled them for just about 2-3 minutes on high with an extra 1/2 slice of cheese on top. The kids and hubby loved them and polished them off! Frying up the onion with the bacon really helped take the bite off so the kids could enjoy it too. The bbq sauce was something fun and out of the ordinary than ketchup. Even in on cold winter days you can still enjoy this food if you just prepare it with a little imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Fantastic as far as hot dogs go. I used bun length turkey dogs and this recipe really helped them become tasty. Didn't want to fire up the grill so I wrapped bacon around dogs and broiled till crispy. Had large Coney Style buns so fit 2 dog into each bun. Broiled cheese on buns and loaded them up. Delicious for a hot dog fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made exactly as written except cooked them in the broiler oven - split the dogs lengthwise when almost done and put the cheese & bacon slice in the dog. I then put them under the broiler until cheese melted. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My kids are picky eaters (including my autistic son). Although they like hot dogs they don't like change. But this recipe was great! I used white onions instead (picky kids), turkey dogs, colby jack mixed shredded cheese and hickory honey smoked BBQ sauce. For the adults I used the recipe as written (except the BBQ sauce) and they loved it! I made some homemade hand cut french fries and we were in business! This recipe offered a new twist to an old friend :) If you are looking for new and different ways to make hot dogs (outside of the usually mustard, ketchup , relish, onions etc...) this is definitely the way to go!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I like your recipe i do this instead took hotdogs sliced 3/4 way through an stuffed with cheese an then wrapped with the bacon an used toothpicks to hold bacon in place. Then griled cheese side down at first when cheese starts to melt turn hot dogs an finish cooking. We have been doing this for years, family an friends love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Really good flavor. I never thought of putting bbq on a hot dog bun before. I did feel like it was missing some tomatoes though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Not bad at all. Loved the bacon and bbq sauce, diffrent, something new, hubby loved, will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is the absolute best way to eat a hotdog. My family has been eating hot dogs like this for years. The only thing we change is to add chili to the hotdogs (can chili works just fine). The bacon really adds a nice flavor to the hotdog. For someone like me this is important. I hate the taste of most hotdog sausage meats, even the all beef brands. So the bacon actually enhances the often unappetizing taste and adds a nice smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States