Killer Bacon-Cheese Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
These really are great hotdogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Made this exactly as written, however, I did lightly brush melted butter on the buns before grilling them. For the barbecue sauce, I used Sweet Baby Ray's. I have to admit I had never used Swiss Cheese, bacon or barbecue sauce on a grilled hot dog and was skeptical as to how this would turn out as we are lovers of mustard, slaw and chili on our hot dogs ! Surprise - this is quite tasty - what is not to like about a delicious beef hot dog, crunchy smoked bacon, tangy cheese, sweet sauce on a butter toasted hot dog bun and sprinkled with spicy onion. Great Memorial Day recipe! Thanks Drink Spiller for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I should preface this review w/a disclaimer: I'm a hot dog purist. I prefer hot dogs roasted over a campfire, on a cheap bun, w/mustard and onions. For some reason, this recipe caught my eye and I've been craving it since I added it to my recipe box. We made them tonight and they were just as delicious as I'd anticipated, though I did opt to sub yellow mustard for BBQ sauce, cause I'm just not a BBQ fan and knew it would really throw off the taste for me. Other than, that, good stuff! I'm lazy, so I nuked 2 slices of Oscar Meyer Center Cut bacon for a couple of minutes to make the process even easier. While this won't become THE way of eating hot dogs for me (still the fire, yellow mustard, onions...), I WILL make these whenever we have some swiss to use. THANKS, drink spiller (BTW-have you tried a sippy cup?)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This truly is a killer cheese dog! I use Cooper Sharp cheddar cheese and serve it on a potato roll...the kids love em!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
YUM...Great combo of flavors! We LOVED the swiss in this, but I think cheddar would also be nice. Hubby was skeptical, but he enjoyed them too. Will def make these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
We’ve had hot dogs in the freezer for some time now and I wanted to use them up, so I thought we’d give this recipe a try. I wrapped the hotdog with the bacon and secured it with toothpicks. Hubs grilled them until the bacon was crisp all around. We tried a couple of versions to see which we liked best. I had both Swiss cheese as well as pepperjack, and I put out both barbeque sauce and mustard, and of course the chopped red onion. I think both Hubs and I preferred the pepperjack with mustard over the Swiss with barbeque sauce. All in all, for us this was just a hotdog. I’m not sure I liked it any better than a plain old hotdog slathered with mustard, but it was fun to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These were a nice change from regular hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristy
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is really bendable to what you like the most on your dog. My husband likes american cheese but my kids and I are all about the sharp cheddar. They like barbeque sauce on their dogs but I like to top mine with sauerkraut and spicy mustard. It's also a good base for a chili dog. This is a fun recipe to make with the kids (they love to wrap their dogs with bacon--come on, who doesn't love double meat--bacon wrapped dogs?) and it's always a quick way to solve the "what should I make for dinner" blahs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Well, I can't speak for myself on this one but my husband sure did enjoy it! Spruce up a plain 'ol hot dog with some cheese and one of his all time favorites - bacon and we have a winner. This definitely is much better than your average hot dog. All I did was add a little mustard to the mix and of course an ice cold beer on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
YUM! Nice twist to the hot dog! Loved the BBQ sauce and thought it was a great addition ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States