Killer Bacon-Cheese Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
My husband is NOT a hotdog eater! But when I served this to him, he said this is the MAN version of a hotdog. I did add 2 strips of bacon to each dog and I also put the Swiss cheese on the bread and threw it into the toaster oven until the cheese was bubbly, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
My family just discovered hotdogs cooked this way about a year ago, but we will never eat another "regular" hotdog again. Only difference is I wrap the bacon around the hotdog and secure it at each end with a toothpick. Once the bacon is done the hotdog is done. You can then remove the toothpick because the bacon holds the wrapped shape once it is done. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I am giving this recipe 5 stars for absolute deliciousness. It gets 0 stars for healthy but you aren't looking for a healthy recipe it you're considering this recipe. Tried it for a special 4th of July 'treat' meal and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
As a hot dog purest, I believe that only mustard, relish and onions should adorn a hot dog. That leaves little options of any other condiments to adorn a dish I grew up on. However, when I read "bacon" in the recipe, I figured what could be wrong with that. I was right. This will go into my faves list as a option for my hot dogs. I love options. PS...saute those onions in a little bacon grease. mmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
My very hungry teen boys loved them. It was a nice change to the standard hot dogs. I only wish I had found, or thought of this recipe when they were little!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is very similar to the A&W's Whistle Dog, which has cheddar cheese, sauted onions and bacon with their sauce. Also a very good choice when travelling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
5 stars for flavor. If you're going to need a lot of bacon though, a lot better in a 400 oven for 10-15 minutes than cooking in a pan. Easier and the bacon stays flat. Less greasy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
The right way to make these is to slice the hotdog 3/4 deep and stuff with cheese then wrap with bacon, secure with toothpicks and either grill or cook under the broiler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
we do this in a deepfryer. make a slice in the hot dog put the cheese in the slice and wrap the bacon around the hot dog hold it on with toothpicks and drop in a fryer. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
great hot dog! reminds me of the Whistle Dog from A&W. A least the way they tasted about 45 yrs. ago. I don't know how they taste now a days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States