Killed Lettuce and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I am so happy to see this recipe. I haven't made this in years and had forgotten about it. I'll never forget the look on my new husband's face (back in the 60's) when I told him what I was cooking for dinner. He ended up loving it and requesting it often. I was taught to use leaf lettuce and added just a little vinegar to the dressing along with salt and pepper. Guess what I'm fixing tonight???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I'm from eastern Kentucky and this is exactly how my mom always made this, the only difference is we called it wilted greens, I'm gonna make this for my wife tonight she has never had it so she is in for a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ & Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I also grew up eating this. Many people hear how its made and cringe.....then they try it and love it. It is my favorite side ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I also make this salad with the addition of thinly sliced radishes. It was always a spring time "look forward to" salad with fresh, tender green onions, radishes, leaf lettuce and some years we even had our own home grown bacon! Waaaaayy popular long before oil/vinegar became a diet staple.We also called it "wilted lettuce", my parents were originally from Oklahoma where my mother grew up eating "onion sandwiches" which are basically bread with butter on it, green onion (as many as you like, mom had 2 or 3 not cut, per sandwich) and some radish slices. roll up and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is a summer favorite of my family. We all anxiously await the fresh lettuce from the garden to make this once a year treat. I make it a little differently, I don't cook the onion, and only add enough hot grease to lightly coat the lettuce (about 2 tablespoons). I also add a fair amount of salt, my friends, neighbors and family LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I'm from WV and we also called it killed lettuce, it must be a regional thing, lol...it's wonderful with Pinto beans, cornbread and fried potatoes.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I grew up knowing this as wilted salad, either one it's yumola !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I grew up in Tenn and my grandmother made this all the time. We ate ours with white bread. You definitely have to add salt and pepper. I just cut up the bacon, fry it, and pour directly over the lettuce and onions. Its so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Paneitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I grew up with a different version of this recipe and we still enjoy it. First of all it's much easier to cut the bacon into small pieces before you fry it. It takes less time and cooks evenly. I don't toss my onions in the bacon grease, just sprinkle them over the salad before adding the hot dressing. I only use about 2 Tbsp. of the bacon fat and add about 1/4 apple cider vinegar, ground black pepper and sugar (to taste, we like it pretty sweet). Heat until the sugar dissolves in the vinegar and bacon fat. Pour hot mixture over the greens and enjoy. It's less fat and gives it a little bite from the vinegar although it does add sugar to the mix. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States