Killed Lettuce and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I grew up with a different version of this recipe and we still enjoy it. First of all it's much easier to cut the bacon into small pieces before you fry it. It takes less time and cooks evenly. I don't toss my onions in the bacon grease, just sprinkle them over the salad before adding the hot dressing. I only use about 2 Tbsp. of the bacon fat and add about 1/4 apple cider vinegar, ground black pepper and sugar (to taste, we like it pretty sweet). Heat until the sugar dissolves in the vinegar and bacon fat. Pour hot mixture over the greens and enjoy. It's less fat and gives it a little bite from the vinegar although it does add sugar to the mix. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I'm from eastern Kentucky and this is exactly how my mom always made this, the only difference is we called it wilted greens, I'm gonna make this for my wife tonight she has never had it so she is in for a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ & Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I also grew up eating this. Many people hear how its made and cringe.....then they try it and love it. It is my favorite side ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Similar to a brussel sprout recipe I found on here a while back but this is just bland. It got considerably better with the addition of salt, pepper & hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is a summer favorite of my family. We all anxiously await the fresh lettuce from the garden to make this once a year treat. I make it a little differently, I don't cook the onion, and only add enough hot grease to lightly coat the lettuce (about 2 tablespoons). I also add a fair amount of salt, my friends, neighbors and family LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
'Wilted Lettuce" as I know it, has has been a family favorite for as long as I can remmeber( i'm 46 now). My grand mother who has now long passed away, could not wait til "leaf Lettuce" was in season to make this, I can still Smell the bacon,onions,vinager.. Every time I make this, it takes me back to her kitchen...Oh how I miss her.. She was a wonderful cook and a wonderful person. How I wished I had written down all her personal recipes! I can't give measurement bc she/we cook my sight and feel, sorry....(Just go with it). A few things she did different....Leaf Lettuce, cut up(schedded by hand)green onions, fry bacon,drain grease keep warm(hot), Mix lettuce,crumbled bacon. green onion,vinegar, salt ,pepper to taste in a bowl. Make sure your bacon grease is very warm(hot) pour over mixture until"wilted". Its kinda like a oil, vinegar spinach salad BUT SO MUCH better. My family moved from West Virgina to Flordia in 1956, So where did the recipe come from I don't know. But I do rememmber my Great Aunts( Grandmothers sisiters) talking about eating this when they were childern in WV, early 1900's. I wished I knew the full history behind this dish, And oh how I miss my gradmother........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
We only have salads in summer with some meet. This is fabulous with avo and blue cheese. (I use beacon bits)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I grew up in Southern Missouri where we always ate "Wilted" lettuce...had the same ingredients, but you heat the bacon grease to a very hot temperature in the skillet and add about 1/4 cup water with a little sugar and some vinegar to the hot grease, then pour over the lettuce and onion. The liquid makes it more like a hot bacon salad dressing! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have made this recipe, but used dandelion greens in the spring before the flower blooms. After the flower blooms, the greens are bitter. I got go to the country where there are no dogs and look for the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States