Killed Lettuce and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I grew up in Tenn and my grandmother made this all the time. We ate ours with white bread. You definitely have to add salt and pepper. I just cut up the bacon, fry it, and pour directly over the lettuce and onions. Its so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Growing up we just called it lettuce and onions. Also, we always added vinegar, I can't imagine eating it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I always thought it was called wilted lettuce. I have had this myself and is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I'm from WV and we also called it killed lettuce, it must be a regional thing, lol...it's wonderful with Pinto beans, cornbread and fried potatoes.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Try it with Romaine lettuce that you have wilted on the bbq a little first.It has more body to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I also make this salad with the addition of thinly sliced radishes. It was always a spring time "look forward to" salad with fresh, tender green onions, radishes, leaf lettuce and some years we even had our own home grown bacon! Waaaaayy popular long before oil/vinegar became a diet staple.We also called it "wilted lettuce", my parents were originally from Oklahoma where my mother grew up eating "onion sandwiches" which are basically bread with butter on it, green onion (as many as you like, mom had 2 or 3 not cut, per sandwich) and some radish slices. roll up and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I grew up knowing this as wilted salad, either one it's yumola !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My Mom called it "Wilted Lettuce" also. The only difference in the recipe she made was adding a little vinegar just before pouring it on the lettuce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I am so happy to see this recipe. I haven't made this in years and had forgotten about it. I'll never forget the look on my new husband's face (back in the 60's) when I told him what I was cooking for dinner. He ended up loving it and requesting it often. I was taught to use leaf lettuce and added just a little vinegar to the dressing along with salt and pepper. Guess what I'm fixing tonight???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have made this recipe, but used dandelion greens in the spring before the flower blooms. After the flower blooms, the greens are bitter. I got go to the country where there are no dogs and look for the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States