Killed Lettuce and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
After some tweaking, this recipe turned out great! It's the kind of thing that is made from tradition, so everyone has their individual likes. My family called this wilted lettuce (Arkansas). I made it as my mother did. I put the lettuce in a bowl and added raw green onion and a little bit of raw radish, cooked the bacon and let it drain. With the bacon fat still in the pan I added some apple cider vinegar and a little sugar, and got that real hot. I poured it over the lettuce and stuff, covered the bowl with the pan (upside down on the bowl), and let it sit a minute. Afterwards, I added the crumpled up bacon and stirred. It ends up being kind of sweet and sour. Mom and I used to make a meal out of this - we didn't need anything else. I've wanted to make this for a long time, but didn't remember how until I saw your recipe, and I thank you for that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I grew up in Tenn and my grandmother made this all the time. We ate ours with white bread. You definitely have to add salt and pepper. I just cut up the bacon, fry it, and pour directly over the lettuce and onions. Its so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Growing up we just called it lettuce and onions. Also, we always added vinegar, I can't imagine eating it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I always thought it was called wilted lettuce. I have had this myself and is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I'm from WV and we also called it killed lettuce, it must be a regional thing, lol...it's wonderful with Pinto beans, cornbread and fried potatoes.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Try it with Romaine lettuce that you have wilted on the bbq a little first.It has more body to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I also make this salad with the addition of thinly sliced radishes. It was always a spring time "look forward to" salad with fresh, tender green onions, radishes, leaf lettuce and some years we even had our own home grown bacon! Waaaaayy popular long before oil/vinegar became a diet staple.We also called it "wilted lettuce", my parents were originally from Oklahoma where my mother grew up eating "onion sandwiches" which are basically bread with butter on it, green onion (as many as you like, mom had 2 or 3 not cut, per sandwich) and some radish slices. roll up and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I grew up knowing this as wilted salad, either one it's yumola !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My Mom called it "Wilted Lettuce" also. The only difference in the recipe she made was adding a little vinegar just before pouring it on the lettuce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I am so happy to see this recipe. I haven't made this in years and had forgotten about it. I'll never forget the look on my new husband's face (back in the 60's) when I told him what I was cooking for dinner. He ended up loving it and requesting it often. I was taught to use leaf lettuce and added just a little vinegar to the dressing along with salt and pepper. Guess what I'm fixing tonight???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States