Kikkoman Chinese Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This dish was fabulous!!! My husband loved it and when he came in to the house he said it smelled like his favorite chinese restaurant. I did add some mushrooms, garlic and ginger to it and it was great. I would definitley use the kikkoman product because the gravy it made was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Edmunds-Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Next time I make it I think I will leave the meat in with the vegetables when cooking them, instead of removing it. I didn't think that the steak picked up as much of the pepper flavor as I would have liked. It was better the next day after it had sat together all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Very good, I added a can of drained pineapple chuncks & some black pepper. Next time, mushrooms are going to added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madisonville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was easy and I was certainly out of the kitchen in a flash, but that isn't always a positive in terms of the final outcome. In this case, I got out of this what I put into it - it was an edible but boring and forgettable dish. Needs more than hoisin sauce to carry it. On the plus side, our bellies are full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was awesome! I made only slight changes such as; I used 1 green bell pepper and 1 red bell pepper, the onions I cut in half and then just sliced, I also added a can of baby corn. I marinated the meat in a few tablespoons of the stir-fry sauce prior to putting it into the wok. I served it over organic Jasmine rice. This was a quick and easy recipe that the entire family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrHappy1353

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frontenac, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I followed this recipe as is and really liked it. We had never tried that sauce before and we really liked the taste. It was very quick and easy! A great middle of the week meal. We had it on top of brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Never liked Pepper Steak before this recipe! The whole family really loved it and we will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Loved it!!My family and I eat chinese take out at least once a week and pepper steak is one of my favorites.This recipe is the rel deal.I didn't have stir fry sauce so I made my own with 3 tbsp. soy,3tbps. tariyaki,3tbps.oyster a pinch of ginger and a generous portion of sesame seeds.Instttead of oil I used butter. I also added green onion garlic and bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Very quick and easy meal to prepare. My husband kept telling me over and over how much he liked it. We'll be eating this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSAVOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Amant, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I guess Hoisin Sauce just isn't for me . . . way too sweet. First time I ever had a main course that was sweeter than the desert. Too bad, because it was very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States