Kiki's Mexican Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
We would probably give this a 4 1/2. According to what I had available, I used no jicama and used Taco Seasoning I (which I keep in my pantry ready for use). For my partial batch of this recipe I cut the corn from a raw cob, and its sweetness was so delicious! There is definitely too much of the mayo/sour cream mix for our taste, so next time I'll cut the mayo back to half and add a little more taco seasoning. This is a great way to use up some of those fresh veggies that are so yummy in the summertime! Thanks, Kiki! We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Loved it! My kids ate it without knowing all that was in and didn't complain once and I have a couple picky eaters..... They ate their veggies and Mom was happy ;-) P.S. I never use taco seasoning.... it has a lot of salt in it. I used chili powder instead and a little more of the pepper and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I was attracted to this salad because it is chock full of power veggies! The high calories and sodium are the only reason I gave it 3 stars. I tweaked the base recipe a little to reduce the fat and salt. I used Hellman's canola mayo instead of regular mayo and low fat sour cream. I also only used 1 avocado - it was plenty for our tastes. Instead of high sodium taco seasoning, I combined 1 full tsp of cumin, 1 full tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp smoked paprika & 1/8 tsp ground mustard. Omitted the hot pepper sauce entirely. The spices added enough kick. Super yummy & perfect over salad greens!! I will be making this all summer long! Thanks, Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHULA_MIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was simple and tasty. I added black beans and almost doubled the veggies, and still had enough dressing to coat it well. If I was making it as directed I would definitely not need all the dressing. I had it on a bed of lettuce with tortilla chips and made an excellent light dinner. I can't wait to make it for the barbeque I'm headed to next weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Topped a tostada shell with the mix, sharp cheeder, shreadded lettace. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.T.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I made this for our office "salad Wednesday", they loved it. I don't know where I saw this but thought it had lettuce, I used chopped romaine. I also added shredded cheese and tortilla chips to the top. It's so pretty and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I didn't like - not sure if it was the mayo or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is a great recipe! In the summer I suggest taking the corn off of the fresh corn cobs...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This salad is so good! I used half the mayo and more veggies than it asked for. I also used the Taco Seasoning I mix from this site. Make sure you let it sit in the fridge for at least an hour or it might be too salty. I served it with tortilla chips and my guests and I couldn't get enough of this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
YUMMMMMM! We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennwhitehead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States