Kiki's Mexican Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
We would probably give this a 4 1/2. According to what I had available, I used no jicama and used Taco Seasoning I (which I keep in my pantry ready for use). For my partial batch of this recipe I cut the corn from a raw cob, and its sweetness was so delicious! There is definitely too much of the mayo/sour cream mix for our taste, so next time I'll cut the mayo back to half and add a little more taco seasoning. This is a great way to use up some of those fresh veggies that are so yummy in the summertime! Thanks, Kiki! We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Loved it! My kids ate it without knowing all that was in and didn't complain once and I have a couple picky eaters..... They ate their veggies and Mom was happy ;-) P.S. I never use taco seasoning.... it has a lot of salt in it. I used chili powder instead and a little more of the pepper and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I was attracted to this salad because it is chock full of power veggies! The high calories and sodium are the only reason I gave it 3 stars. I tweaked the base recipe a little to reduce the fat and salt. I used Hellman's canola mayo instead of regular mayo and low fat sour cream. I also only used 1 avocado - it was plenty for our tastes. Instead of high sodium taco seasoning, I combined 1 full tsp of cumin, 1 full tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp smoked paprika & 1/8 tsp ground mustard. Omitted the hot pepper sauce entirely. The spices added enough kick. Super yummy & perfect over salad greens!! I will be making this all summer long! Thanks, Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHULA_MIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was simple and tasty. I added black beans and almost doubled the veggies, and still had enough dressing to coat it well. If I was making it as directed I would definitely not need all the dressing. I had it on a bed of lettuce with tortilla chips and made an excellent light dinner. I can't wait to make it for the barbeque I'm headed to next weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Topped a tostada shell with the mix, sharp cheeder, shreadded lettace. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.T.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I made this for our office "salad Wednesday", they loved it. I don't know where I saw this but thought it had lettuce, I used chopped romaine. I also added shredded cheese and tortilla chips to the top. It's so pretty and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I didn't like - not sure if it was the mayo or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is a great recipe! In the summer I suggest taking the corn off of the fresh corn cobs...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This salad is so good! I used half the mayo and more veggies than it asked for. I also used the Taco Seasoning I mix from this site. Make sure you let it sit in the fridge for at least an hour or it might be too salty. I served it with tortilla chips and my guests and I couldn't get enough of this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
YUMMMMMM! We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennwhitehead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States