Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Since I didn't prepare for this meal ahead of time, I put the dried beans into a large pot and covered them with water about an inch above the beans. I brought the pot to a boil and then covered the pot and removed it from the burner. After an hour or so, I drained the water and then began following the recipe. I only had Miller Lite on hand so I used that. I was concerned that it wouldn't taste right because it gave off a weird odor with the oregano, but it was fine. I added extra jalapenos to the pot since we like our food spicy. This was absolutely delicious and worth the time put in. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This isn't my kind of dish at all, but Husband really enjoyed it. I made it with Amber Bock beer (nice flavor, not too heavy) plus I threw in some finely diced fresh jalaps as well as the jarred kind. I omitted the oregano, and added a few good shakes of Adobo seasoning. I mashed everything up a little, and served it with flour tortillas and sour cream. It would be great with some homemade guac too. Like I say, I wasn't wowed by it, but Husband was extremely appreciative. Thanks, Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made this in the crockpot too. I combined this recipe with a Frijoles a la Charra recipe by adding some meat (two smoked ham hocks) and sauteeing the onions, garlic, peppers and tomatoes before adding. The bay leaves really add to the flavor. I wasn't sure about them, because I usually add them to navy bean soup (not mexican cuisine, but I figured, what the heck, I'll give it a try). I added a pinch of cinnamon, paprika and coriander too, they are spices you'd find in Sazon. I added too much water, I wasn't paying attention, but in the end it didn't matter at all. This is a very forgiving recipe and the beans were superb, better than restaurant quality. Thanks Kiki!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was really good, something different. I followed the recipe but did not have beer. It is very filling and healthy! I keep making it but have to remember to tone down the jalapenos just a little for me. Delicious with or without cilantro but makes it a totally different dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I cooked in the crock pot for 5 hours on high, 4 on low and then pureed. I think because of this cooking method there may have been excess liquid and it was definitely a soup. I used a Guinness stout and the flavor was very mild at the end. I topped with fresh pico de gallo, diced avocado grilled chicken and a couple of tortilla chips. For added spice you may want to add extra "heat" at the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is a great recipe with a nice depth of flavor. I made some slight changes - halved the broth, used veggie broth, cooked beans in the first stage of cooking in a pressure cooker, added 1 can diced tomato instead of 2 cans stewed, used lager instead of dark beer, used a seeded serrano instead of jalapenos, also added 3/4 of a big green pepper, fake ham seasoning (I'm a vegetarian but know that flavor pairs nicely w/ beans), and about 1/4 tsp cumin. The consistency is not that of refried beans or whole cooked beans, but a looser concoction, a little like a thick soup. I served with homemade spanish rice and it was delicious. Today I'll try with quesadillas and I'm sure it'll be a smash! As others have stated, soaking the beans overnight and starting with fresher beans are very important as this drastically reduces cook times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
WOW I didn't have pinto beans so used borlotti instead 1/2 scale and followed recipe as written. WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Everything turned out very well. The beans were flavorful and there was just the right amount of liquid after about 5 hours of total cook time. There wasn't any particular flavor that stood out to me, it all blended very well. Tasted like the beans from back in San Antonio :) People have to remember to SOAK THE BEANS OVERNIGHT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This receipe is great. The only change, I made was add some New Mexico Green Chiles to it. It was just like my grandmother useed to make. Thank you KIKI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVAUGHN123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by GARSKESD
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I am not much of a bean eater and have never cooked dried beans before in my life! These were very good and easy! I did not soak them overnight. I cooked them several hours on low, stirring and adding more liquid every so often. I only had chelada beer (beer with tomato juice in it) and it was great...added 2 fresh jalapeno peppers, probably could have used 1 more for a little extra bite. My family loved it and all had seconds! This will be a great recipe to take camping with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States