Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very close to what is served in San Antonio, with a few tweaks. I used only one can of tomatoes and drained about half the liquid off. I used only 2 Tablespoons of pickled jalapenos, and that is plenty of heat, along with only 3 large cloves of minced garlic. I subbed 1 tsp. of cumin for the oregano, because that is more authentic, and we prefer it. About 1/2 cup of fresh cilantro is enough to give it good flavor without overpowering the dish. To be truly authentic, it needs a little bacon, but I will add that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Amazing! Everyone in my family loves these beans! I omitted the beer and used canned beans. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Amazing dish! I was eating a very similar dish (made with black beans instead of pinto) at a local brunch place practically every weekend and needed to figure out how to make it for myself (for budget purposes). I used this recipe but replaced the beans with black beans and Oh.My.God. it's even better than the $10 dish I was ordering. I serve this over grits with a dollop of sour cream and a hard boiled egg sliced in half on top. Perfection. Also, I noticed a real difference when I used a higher quality stout--it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Made this according to recipe and had enough for me and hubby and the entire congregation of our local Methodist church. This serves at least 20-24 as a hearty side dish...and a very tasty one at that!!! The flavor is very different and impressive. Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
i put these together last night, after work. i only used i can of tomatoes, half the broth, and i think they came out VERY good! and so did my husband.thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forsyth, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I've never knowingly had Borracho Beans before but I'm always looking for some new ways to fix beans. I have a new found appreciation for pickled jalapenos also so I figured why not? Well I just don't know. I don't hate the beans but they really aren't doing anything for me. There is a weird taste which I really can't identify. I'm hoping my opinion will change when I try them again tomorrow and they've sat overnight. But for now, I don't know that I'd make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I do not like beans. My husband does not like beans. But...my kids love them. So I made these. Ans they are WONDERFUL. I am converted. Cooked in a slow cooker for ~12 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
True and authentic borracho beans. I also added chorizo and jalapeno juice when the other ingredients were put in which gives it a bit of a kick. My Mexican family loves it so much for our family get togethers I'm always asked to make the borracho beans! Thank you for sharing Kiki!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
The beer gives it a great taste. I loved every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I have made these several times and actually prefer them without the beer and oregano. I also use fresh jalepeno instead of the pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States