Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very delicious! Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I grew up in San Antonio and living now in the Midwest I really (REALLY) miss the food. This wasn't exactly like the borracho beans I'm use to but it was still delicious! I didn't soak the beans overnight (didn't have time) but I did soak them for about an hour. I found that to be adequate. I used Dos Equis instead of dark beer (just don't like dark beer) so it may have lost some flavor because I did that. Otherwise the only adjustments I made were using fresh jalapeno over jarred because I have a ton from my garden. I also used cilantro paste because I hate cilantro leaves. This is one I'll definitely make again so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Tons of flavor!!! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya
Home Town: Dayton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Great Recipe..I added a couple extra ingredients and cooked it a little longer..I prefer my beans thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Delicioso! Just add one pound bacon and drippings to add extra flavor. Bacon relly does make everything better:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I need to add to my original review...that I used Coors Light instead of a dark beer. We always just use a light beer. Still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe is way too salty! If (and that's a big IF) I make this recipe again, I will cut the salt down to one-fourth of what the recipe calls for. The dark beer was also not to our liking. If I make this recipe again, I will either leave out the beer or use a blonde instead of dark beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe is perfect. I soaked my beans overnight and cooked them in my crock-pot all day. My family loved them! The only thing I added was ham hocks. With those, I wish I would have reduced the amount of salt. I had already cut it in half from the amount called for but they still came out a bit salty. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This turned out really good and my hubby really liked it too. I did use two fresh jalapenos instead of jarred. I served this as a side dish to my Carnitas. It made A TON for a side dish. I think next time I will simmer with all the ingredients all day to really incorporate the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was the first time I ever tried these beans, and they were a big hit!!! we added some chopped bacon to the recipe to give it a little smokey flavor and they were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States