Kielbasa with Peppers and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Just a suggestion to those of you who thought this was too greasy. I ALWAYS simmer my sausage (kielbasa) for at least a good 30 -40 minutes in water and this takes most of the grease away. The stock can be used to make split pea soup or any vegetable soup. Actually I use the stock in cooking my kraut - gives the kraut a bit of a smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I read many reviews before I make a recipe. Usually I stick to the recipe to see what it was meant to taste like unless many reviewers suggest 1 or 2 changes. This was pretty good however I added a few changes of my own. In addition to the pepper, I had green I added a small onion, a few baby carrots and one stalk of celery. I was trying to use up some left over vegetables. I cut everything the same size, all diced. I cooked all the veggies together in just a dash of oil. In a bigger frying pan I cooked the potatoes in a little bit of oil and butter to crisp them up a bit then I added the kielbasa. When the potatoes were almost tender I added the lightly sauteed veggies to the pan. I also added a little bit of beef broth to keep it moist and a few dashes of soy sauce. Put the lid on it and let it cook just a tad more to fully cook the potatoes. The only downfall is there just wasn't enough for 3 hungry adults and 1 child. Next time I will make even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is similar to a meal I've made for years, now. I use light Italian sausage instead of kielbasa. Brown it in a pan. Cut baking potatoes, peppers and red onions into one-inch pieces and put the sausage and veggies in a single layer in a Pyrex dish. Add olive oil, salt & pepper and roast it in the oven for 45 minutes or so. I occasionally add slivers of garlic and/or mushrooms. Really yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is a good recipe that my family enjoyed. I used frozen peppers. After reading reviews here I was afraid of mushy potatos so we were careful not to stir the food any more than necessary during cooking. A couple of pan shakes and fliping the food around during cooking was all it needed. Was not greasy and the taters were just perfect. It did stick to the pan as other reviews stated but some Dawn Power Dissolve will make cleaning it a snap. We will make this again since it's an easy week night recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was very good. I sauteed fresh garlic, red onion,yellow, orange and red sweet peppers separately then added them to the potato and sausage mixture around 5 minutes before serving. Very yummy.....I think next time I might add some red pepper flakes for some added zing. Served with garlic bread and my kids loved it. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
It would be better to skin the sausage and cut it in larger chunks. The dish is much too greasy. The sausage needs to be cooked separately and drained well before combining with other ingredients. Otherwise I would have given it more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Yummy, yummy, yummy. We could not stop ourselves from having secinds and even thirds. I used the same ingredients plus onion and used low fat turkey kielbasa. I also cooked the peppers and onions on the side before adding to the kielbasa and potatoes. DELICIOUS-- a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This recipe was really good and so easy! I followed other suggestions: no oil, added onion,garlic and italian seasoning. I also added green pepper for some added color. The next time I cook this dish I will cook the sausage by itself before adding everything else as there was alot of liquid that I had to drain off before the dish was finished. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used a green bell pepper instead of yellow since that was what I had. Slso I added an onion. The potatoes were done after about 10 min. then they turned to mush. I made a similar recipe to this years ago, but I boiled the potatoes about 5 min. then cooked them with the sausage to a crisp. If I make this again I wouldn't cover the pan. The potatoes get too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samiam3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Delicious! I added some chopped onions and used low fat Polska Kielbasa made by Healthy Choice. I also used less cheese. Other than that I kept the recipe the same. I did need to use the oil since I used the low fat kielbasa. It wasn't greasy in any way. The potatoes soak up the flavor of the juices nicely. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States