Kielbasa with Peppers and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
My mother is Polish (I am first generation) and she has been making a variation of this since I was small. I will tell you that in Poland, the potatoes are always "mushy" in the recipes. It may just be cultural but that is how she made it. She didn't use sausage in it growing up, rather potatoes, bell peppers and onions with salt, pepper and paprika. Polish people use very simple ingredients, sticking to pantry basics. I cooked the sausage on the side and served this as more of a side dish. Also, if you want another great Polish side dish, slice thinly peeled cucumbers mixed with mayo and a little sour cream with salt and pepper. Also a staple side dish is garden tomatoes sliced and placed around a plate with very thinly sliced onions, salt, pepper and olive oil. Makes a beautiful presentation but is also very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Oh what a wonderful dish. We really enjoyed this dish! Very easy to make and very tasty. Will being making again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I added butter to cook the potatoes and peppers. I also added some onions. I cooked the kielbasa in a separate pan to crisp it up a little and transferred it to the pan with potatoes, peppers and onions as it browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Followed the recipe adding onions and freshly ground pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gee Flow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I used the green pepper I had on hand and Johnsonville Smoked Kielbasa. Yummy starting dish, next time I'll add some onion, garlic and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I subbed Johnsonville Italian Sausage. This was quick and easy. I will add onion if I make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I listened to other reviewers also. I used 1.5 lbs of turkey kielbasa and sauteed it with 3 russet potatoes and 3 carrots, peeled and sliced. In a separate skillet, I added a tbsp. of butter and sauteed a green pepper and a red pepper, cut into chunky pieces,also some chopped onion, 2 stalks of sliced celery, and about 5 cloves of of garlic, sliced. I added a little salt and pepper and Italian seasoning. I combined the two skillets together for another 5 min., and served it with some left over brown rice with black beans. It was so tasty. My daughter is taking a combo of the two dishes to school for lunch tomorrow in a Thermos. A winner for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSCos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Goshen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe is definitely one I'll be using again. Very good and perfect for week night dinners. Also added a little onion, some oregano, and some parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Just tried it tonight and my entire family loved it! My younger son , who is very picky, even went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very good! Will makce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States