Kielbasa and Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I realized I didn't elaborate on something I should have - when I said cover with foil I meant completely seal a top piece of foil to the edges to create an airlock, and don't open it til it's finished, or very close to done. This seal makes the potatoes cook to perfection (thank you mom for that tip). We also get a very spicy polish sausage, and sometimes add Old Bay or Seasoning salt versus the lemon pepper. It's just one of those wholesome filling meals you don't have to mess with on busy weeknights. ;) Cheers - Cat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I changed up this recipe quite a bit. First of all I omitted the potatoes because when I first tried this recipe I didn't think they were cooked enough when the dish was done. I use a large bag of frozen mixed vegetables, then added a head of broccoli cut into florets. Then for more flavor I added a half a pkg. of Lipton '"recipe Secrets" vegetable flavor.I added the sliced Polish sausage,I then baked it covered tightly for 50 min. Then opened it up and added a cup of sharp shredded chedder cheese. Put back in oven until cheese melted. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hiedi's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salamanca, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This was a definite hit in my house!! I used regular keilbasa & beef smoked sausage (1 of each). I also used frozen has brown potatoes to save time. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Strawberry Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
My family loved this recipe. It tasted even better reheated two days after. The one thing I would change is the amount of butter - next time I will add a quarter the amount the recipe calls for if at all. There should be enough grease in the sausage to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
There was nothing offensive about this recipe, but it wasn't spectacular. I diced the potatoes really small, and they were still hard after cooking the entire time dictated. I even had to boil it for awhile before the potatoes were edible. Maybe it was my potatoes. I might try it again because it was pretty easy and tasted fine, but I'll be sure to cook potatoes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
Very tasty! Since my husband and I both have to watch our cholesteral, I used a low fat smoked sausage, and cut the butter to 3 TBS and uesd low fat cheddar and it was still a wonderful combination. Will definately add to my recipe collection and make again. Thanks, Cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Too greasy as written so next time I will skip adding any butter on top; other than that it was very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is delicious! Like other readers, I used turkey sausage (I like Hillshire Smoked Turkey Sausage, it's peppery) and a bag of frozen spring vegetables (peppers, squash, asparagus, etc). My DH and I love onions, so I went ahead and browned the turkey sausage and onions in a skillet first. I diced 4 small red potatoes, only used 2 tbsp butter and sprinkled Mrs Dash on top. Didn't have any cheddar cheese, but had about 1 cup of colby/jack. Thank you for a great dinner recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
We made this last night and found it enjoyable with the following changes: 1. 16 ounce veggies instead of 10 2. Red potatoes sliced thinly 3. Omitted butter We put all the ingredients plus a can of cheese soup on the stove top for about 15 minutes to help them mingle. Then into the casserole dish for the prescribed time. When it was done I removed the foil, added two handfuls of cheese and put back in the oven on warm for about ten more minutes uncovered. I thought it was great! My husband said it was good but needed more sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States