Kielbasa and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I thought this recipe was excellent! Definitely a "do-over" (meaning make it again, and again, and .......) The only thing I did differently was to add onion, simply because we like onion in nearly everything we make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I used cream of broccoli soup and it tasted amazing. I cooked it on the stoveIinstead of in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
We loved this! I used smoked sausage and added some cheddar cheese and chives. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Not great but also not bad. I boiled the potatoes first, browned the sausage, cut milk in half, and added carrots and tomatoes. I'll probably make again but this isn't a recipe I'd brag about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I made this to take to a potluck and had 3 people ask me for the recipe. It was good but I think it could be better with some cheese on top and perhaps some onion and bell pepper mixed in and more seasonings. Just my opinion. I made recipe as it is stated here. Diced potatoes small and came out completely cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is a great comfort food and reminds me of a dish my mom used to make when I was a kid. I did make a few changes simply because I like to tweak things a little bit and make it my own. I used 6 russet potatoes sliced thin with the peels left on. I sauteed the sliced smoked sausage until slightly browned(I used turkey smoked sausage) along with about a 1/3C of diced onion, 1/4C sliced leeks, 1T of minced garlic and a handful of baby bella mushrooms sliced thin. Meanwhile in a sauce pan I mixed together a can of cream of mushroom soup, 2C of milk, 1/2C of sour cream, 1/2 teaspoon each of onion powder and garlic powder, a tablespoon of parsley and a few shakes of red pepper flakes then melted about a cup and a half of chedder cheese into this mixture until just heated through and mixed well. Next I loaded a baking dish with the potatoes and tossed that together with my saute mixture. Next I topped that with 1/8 of a cup of sliced green onions and poured the soup mixture over top of everything. Sprinkled with parmesan cheese and popped in the oven for an hour and half...absolutely wonderful. Not exactly the most health conscious dish but really good on a cold night as other have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is an excellent recipe and we double it for our family of 9. It's soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This has become a favorite in our household. I grew up with my grandmother making Kielbasa and potatoes for my grandfather once a week. This is a modern version to her dish. It also doesn't take long to make. When I am in a hurry, I fry the kielbasa until it's brown, boil the potatoes for 10 minutes, then follow the recipe. Adding those extra steps means less time in the oven. Dinner is ready in less than an hour. My Italian husband and kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
A quick scan of the ingredients told me that this was going to be far too soupy for what I wanted. Since I wanted more of a creamy casserole than a soup, it was necessary for me to make a few changes. I omitted the milk entirely and used cream of onion soup mixed with 8 oz sour cream. I added some garlic/onion powders, pepper, paprika, a few shakes of dried parsley, as well as a handful each of shredded cheddar and an Italian blend. I cut my potatoes a bit bigger than diced and parboiled for 10 minutes. I browned my lowfat smoked turkey sausage, which I sliced into halves, in a bit of canola oil, then removed from the pan and sauteed a small onion in the drippings. I combined the parboiled potatoes, turkey sausage, onions, and the soup/sour cream mixture in a 9x13 baking dish (don't own a 7x11 dish). I added some additional shredded cheddar atop the casserole and baked for 25 minutes at 350. The last 2 minutes, I set the oven to broil and scattered a few French fried onions. I let the casserole sit for 10 minutes after removing it from the oven and the end result was delicious! Will definitely make again using this recipe as my inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States