Kielbasa and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is an excellent recipe and we double it for our family of 9. It's soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Griffin Revoir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This has become a favorite in our household. I grew up with my grandmother making Kielbasa and potatoes for my grandfather once a week. This is a modern version to her dish. It also doesn't take long to make. When I am in a hurry, I fry the kielbasa until it's brown, boil the potatoes for 10 minutes, then follow the recipe. Adding those extra steps means less time in the oven. Dinner is ready in less than an hour. My Italian husband and kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
A quick scan of the ingredients told me that this was going to be far too soupy for what I wanted. Since I wanted more of a creamy casserole than a soup, it was necessary for me to make a few changes. I omitted the milk entirely and used cream of onion soup mixed with 8 oz sour cream. I added some garlic/onion powders, pepper, paprika, a few shakes of dried parsley, as well as a handful each of shredded cheddar and an Italian blend. I cut my potatoes a bit bigger than diced and parboiled for 10 minutes. I browned my lowfat smoked turkey sausage, which I sliced into halves, in a bit of canola oil, then removed from the pan and sauteed a small onion in the drippings. I combined the parboiled potatoes, turkey sausage, onions, and the soup/sour cream mixture in a 9x13 baking dish (don't own a 7x11 dish). I added some additional shredded cheddar atop the casserole and baked for 25 minutes at 350. The last 2 minutes, I set the oven to broil and scattered a few French fried onions. I let the casserole sit for 10 minutes after removing it from the oven and the end result was delicious! Will definitely make again using this recipe as my inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Like previous comments, I boiled the potatoes, used almost a whole can of low fat milk, omitted the salt (enough in the soup & sausage), added a couple potatoes, used condensed chicken soup, didn't measure garlic powder and fresh cracked black pepper. All in all, pretty tasty. Didn't get all stars cuz 8 servings?! Really? For whom? This fed 3 teenage boys & one preschooler. Will use this recipe again- double or triple!! = ]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I add a few spices to ZING it up; a great base recipe. Good comfort food on a cool night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
My hubby really liked this and I liked that it was easy to do and took only a short time to make. Working gal so I look for the quick ones. Recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
It's a good thing I made a double recipe the first time I made this. It was really good and the boyfriend really liked it as well. I followed the recipe pretty much through and through, just added more garlic and I had one less potato on hand. Great with cheddar cheese on top. If you have guests, this would be great with baked rolls and some sort of veggies on the side! Next time, I would add less salt. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ira
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
epitomy of comfort food...i added 2x the amount of soup because i wanted to make sure it was creamy enough for us, but that was my own preferance. it was so good even my 8 year old ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was a good "comfort food" meal, but I agree with other reviewers that it's a bit bland. I took the advice of others and boiled my potatoes 10 minutes before mixing in the other ingredients. I also browned my sausage with garlic in a bit of olive oil. Only used 1 soup can of milk and it was nice and creamy, not soupy. Just lacked much flavor. Needs additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Great simple recipe! Changing things up a little, I sautéd half an onion, a green pepper, a clove of garlic with a little olive oil with cayenne pepper and black pepper; then added the kielbasa to cook for a bit. Instead of 2 cups, milk, I used 1 cup half & half, 0.5 cups milk, 4 oz of sour cream, a handful of sharp cheddar cheese, and a little black pepper. Omit the salt as the kielbasa will make up for it; add garlic salt if desired. It will help to reduce the cooking time by putting the cubed potatoes in the microwave on high for about 4-5 minutes. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States