Kielbasa and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Oh my goodness, what a great recipe! I was just looking for something to use what I had in the freezer and pantry and happened on this. Didn't expect much, kind of a steamed cabbage/sausage meal, but what a treat it turned out to be! The base recipe is great, but I used a bunch of other reviewers' ideas...I sauteed the onions and garlic in the bacon drippings, then added the other items. Rather than cutting it in quarters, I sliced the cabbage 1/2" wide, almost shredded. It wilts better that way. I also cubed 4-5 red potatoes, microwaved them to par-cook for 3 minutes, then added them to the pan with the cabbage. I also pan-fried the kielbasa separately to get it nice and browned, then added it for the final 10-15 minutes. The sugar caramelized the onions and cabbage wondefully, the red pepper added that great zingy contrast, and the potatoes brought another texture level. Delightful! I think the cabbage/potatoes/bacon mixture would make a great side dish as well, sans kielbasa. Thank you, Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Since my mother was Polish I've eaten this dish many times. You're right about the potatoes-more people use them in this dish than don't and very few put the caraway seeds in it. I'll tell you a little secret though. One reviewer came close when she said that she tried it with bowtie pasta. This meal is fantastic with kielbasa, cabbage and a bowl of buttered egg noodles on the side with a little salt and pepper. You'll think you've finally reached seventh heaven it's so tasty and filling. Real comfort food here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I loved this recipe. My grandparents, from Germany, would make something similar to this, and this was just as good! I did add 1 large baking potato cut into cubes to the cabbage mix, after I boiled the potato separately for about 15 minutes. I also sauteed the sausage in a separate skillet to keep them from getting soggy and that boiled taste once in the cabbage. Also, I only used 1 1/2 tsp of caraway seeds and it came out excellent! 3 tsp is way too much! I topped each dish off with a dollop of sour cream and it blended the flavors of all the ingredients perfectly! It was truly yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Yummy! Didn't have caraway seeds, but still very tasty!I put over wide egg noodles! Next time I will add carrots and do with boiled potatoes! For those of you giving low stars to this recipe because of fat and calories, you really should go to a healthier web site. It's not fair to this recipe or any other on this site. The recipes on this site don't say diet! This is for cooks that want to experience different regular recipes, and tastes! If you want totally healthy go to another site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrkizz
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Excellent! Made "mainly" as written with the exception of using splenda instead of sugar (which I always do if you read my other reviews-- trying to control carbs for hubs), draining all but about a TBSP of the drippings (trying to control fat for me & kids).... used lower salt bacon and lite hillshire farms kielbasa. Everything else remained the same... right down to the caraway seeds.... I understand the desire to cut back/down/eliminate certain things.... but I don't feel that one should judge and rate the recipe from their dietary soapbox... if it is too fatty for you, move along... OR make it, including your really far out changes that totally skew the intended flavor... then DON'T RATE IT! It is not fair to the person submitting it or those of us trying to get a sense of it is good to try or not based on others' reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
My husband and I enjoyed this. The only thing I did different was I did not add the caraway seeds. It was good but definetly keep an eye on it the cabbage was a little over done for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
This is very good. Similar to what my mother use to make. I added stewed tomatoes to the cabbage this was especially great! Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
We enjoyed this simple and humble dish without sugar, without caraway seed and without the crushed red pepper flakes. I served this with some parsley boiled and buttered red potatoes and it was quite a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Very good! I followed some of the suggestions from other reviewers and browned the kielbasa separately in another hot frying pan (with 2 tbls. of oil). After 10 minutes of constant stirring...and when kielbasa was browned, I added to the cabbage mixture, mixed it up...covered and let cook for the last 15 minutes. It makes a great lunch the following day (eating it now...and it seems to taste better than it did last night!) My hubby, who is not a big cabbage fan, liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Great basic ingredients, but in no way am I eating 39 fat grams in one dish. I don't eat that many fat grams in an entire day! Comfort foods we love that can be enjoyed for a lot fewer calories using turkey bacon (which produces almost no drippings) and Healthy Choice turkey smoked sausage. Just taking care of my health and that of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States