Kielbasa and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Didn't have seasoned salt, so just replaced with salt. This is VERY good and so easy. Made it with beer bread (1 can beast lite + 3 cups self-rising flour, 1 hour at 375). Used the bread to soak up juices - so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I made the recipe as directed and found it to be delicious. I used splenda instead of sugar but followed the remaining directions as written. Very tasty and not too sweet in my opinion. Looking forward to making it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Turtlepoint, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this for the very first time, came out very delicious, my wife liked it and begs me to cook it again!!!!. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Benedict Constantine Menezes
Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I did not care for this dish at all. Surprised, because separately, I love cabbage and chicken kielbasa. Following the directions, I found it to be too greasy. It may just be a matter of personal taste, but I will continue to serve my cabbage separately, with butter and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This recipe was way too sweet for our tasting. We did, however use GOOD bacon that did not produce a large amount of drippings, which helped some. We thought that maybe cutting the sugar back and doing away with the caraway seeds would help. Not that doing so would matter too much, we will never make it to this recipe again. There are too many flavors and seasonings that seem to need too much tweaking to really come close to being a "version" of this recipe. I would suggest this recipe to someone who's family enjoys a sweet tasting supper, but since ours does not, I would suggest something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
We love it! Made it for years and had gotten away from it due to youngsters tastes. Felt I was forgetting something so I looked up here. My original (was out of "Women's Day", I remember) had 2 Tbl. Cider Vinegar, which I eventually changed to Malt Vinegar, and 1 Tbl. sesame seeds at the last 15 min....AND.... 2 1/4rd & cored Macintosh apples....AND....Ground Ginger (about 1/2 tsp). Hope someone tries it and enjoys. The old version seems a bit more Germanic to me. Today I finished it off with a couple dashes of sesame oil at the very finish and it was super! Originally had buttered egg noodles with this but will try with the potato or pierogies (that sounds simply divine). Thanks so much for the recipe and the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I didn't have caraway seeds so I substituted 1 tsp fennel seeds, 1 tsp oregano, and 1/4 tsp ground cumin. It was delicious! I also used red cabbage as that is what I had in the fridge. I can't wait to try it with caraway seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Great and simple. I used Splenda instead of sugar to make it less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Minnick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was a good recipe. I didn't really do anything to change it, it was very tasty as is! It was a little greasy and maybe I'm not the biggest fan of cabbage but my husband really enjoyed it so I will probably be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I didn't have bacon, so i just used a couple tablespoons of butter in place of the drippings. I also left out the caraway seeds (didn't have any). Maybe it was because i left out the bacon, but this tasted a tiny bit sweet to me. Next time i might cut the sugar down. An excellent recipe that turned out good even with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States