Kielbasa and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I love the recipe. I had to change it up for kids. I used salt and pepper instead of seasoning salt and red pepper. I also sautéed the onions and sausage before using as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious and easy! I didn't have any caraway seeds and I don't think they were missed. I will definitely make this recipe again. Also, I only used about a tablespoon of the bacon grease. I think any more would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Not crazy about this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My family loved this very much i will definely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Raines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I love finding a new recipe and reading other reviewers comments as to what would improve it. Many reviewers stated this dish was too sweet so I cut the sugar to one tsp. I am not a big caraway fan so used one tsp. Added 3 small potatoes, cut into pieces(per many reviewers advice). I used apple cider instead of water. Next time I will use beer because it is still a very sweet dish. I browned the kielbasa in the bacon drippings. It was a very satisfying dish. My husband and I both loved it. I served it with buttermilk cornbread baked in my favorite iron skillet. Yummy! We must have liked it too much because it's supposed to feed 6 and we ate almost every bite. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Pretty good and super easy. I reduced the caraway seed to 2 instead of 3 tsps but otherwise hit it on all marks. Next time (and there will be a next time) I may reduce the sugar a little as I thought the sweetness was too apparent. Also, I might add a touch of dry mustard and sub beer for the water. All very minor changes to a pretty good dish as is, after cooking it as intended. To the side I served Chef John's oven roasted red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gravy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I was very skeptical as this recipes calls for you to pour water into hot bacon grease but it has a lot of great reviews so o figured I'd try it. Since this seemed like a really bad idea to me (water and grease/oil are not friends), I decided to put all the spices/seasonings in first. They immediately began to burn and our entire apartment filled with thick, gray smoke in a matter of seconds. Guess I should try putting in the onions first next time (mistake on my part). We're going to attempt this again now but using vegetable oil instead as we have no bacon grease left. I'll leave another review if it turns out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I'm of Polish descent, and this is EXCELLENT! I make sauteed cabbage frequently, but this is different than how I usually do it. I normally don't do the bacon/cook in the grease, but added a lot of flavor. I did follow other's suggestions as well: sauteed kielbasa to brown beforehand and added about 5 min before cabbage was done. I also had some small red potatoes that I needed to use. Cubed them, microwaved 3-4 min, and added those with the kielbasa. Don't usually do sugar, seasoned salt or red pepper flakes, but all of those are great additions! This always tastes better the next day, so I think I'll wait for the main meal! Will go great with a cold brewski! Thanks KITKATY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
my family loved it they want me to make it again it is a great meal and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Roam

Displaying results 21-30 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States