Kielbasa and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made this tonight. Left out the caraway seeds and substituted apple juice for the water and sugar. Amazing! I was suprised by the delicious flavor by such simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Heverly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious and easy. I substituted smoked turkey sausage for kielbasa and a pat of butter for the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onesmartcookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I always try to make a recipe the way it directs before changing it. I thought this was very tasty but I would definitely make some slight changes. First, I would cut the sausage length wise and then into smaller chunks. Second, I'd saute the sausage first, then add the liquid, seasonings, and cabbage strips. Third, instead of wedges, I quarter it, then slice them into 1/2" strips to make it easier to wilt and eat. Fourth, will definitely decrease the caraway by about 1/2. I love caraway but that was just too much for me and way more than hubby cared for. Fifth, change the water to apple cider, apple juice or even beer. Sixth, add a dollop of butter at the end, just before serving and serve with a crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Kibbe-Riddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Burger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Fantastic recipe. The caraway seeds flavor is remarkable. The caramelization of sugar is genius . The only thing I do different is add boiled potatoes , chopped into bite sized portions , along with the kielbasa for the last 30 mins. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rapidrecipe
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
What a great simple family meal. My husband is polish and we took it to a food exchange and it was a huge hit! I'm Caribbean and it loved how easy it was to make along side my curry goat! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
10 stars! This was too good for words. I was making it at night to take to my moms and my boyfriend and I ate at least half it! We couldn't get enough. I did brown the meat, add a potato and cut the caraway seed in half. This is the new football half-time favorite! Thanks for the recipe that reminds me of my Gram!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbypa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Excellent!! My husband and BOTH kids (3 and 7) LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made this twice in one week. The first time I made the recipe, I followed it with no changes. The second time I added potatoes. Its absolutely delicious! Its filling but not heavy. This is a keeper. If you had potatoes, cook them halfway then add them to the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liv_baldwin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My family and I liked it, especially my husband! I did take the advise of others and added large chunks of Russet potatoes, but next time I'll use smaller "red" potatoes because you can't distinguish the Russet potatoes with the lighter areas of the cabbage. It's an issue for us because our 14 year old son will not eat potatoes and if he can't see them he won't eat any thing else from his plate, EXCEPT for the bacon, of course. Also, this recipe is a great alternative when you can't find corned beef at the market, except around St. Patrick's Day. I would make this again for Sunday dinner with the whole family. It's definitely a family comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1964arrieta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States