Kielbasa and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was delicious! I took the advice of others and sauteed the onions and garlic in the drippings first. I also boiled two potatoes then sauteed them in a separate pan with additional bacon and the kielbasa. Most definitely a repeat!!! Thanks for the recipe KITKATY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
The sugar made these very sweet, but delicious! I love kielbasa. I would recommend only using 1 teaspoon of caraway seeds, 3 tsp was way too much. Make sure when you turn the temp to low once you finish the bacon, because the water made lots of steam when I had the temp on med-high!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I've used allrecipes for a couple years now & this has to be my favorite recipe so far! I crave it all the time. I think the sugar gives it the perfect sweetness. I agree with the reviewer in pan frying the kielbasa seperately until browned, maks it even better.I always serve it with a baked potato & hawaiian sweet rolls, & of course the sour cream & bacon crumbles on top of the dish. I also always add 2 carrots to the mix.Perfect dish in my opinion, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Fantastic recipe. Was looking for ways to use cabbage from the garden beside your typical coleslaw. Family loved this, I took some to my mom who immediately asked for the recipe so she could take it to a pot luck dinner that very evening. Thanks for offering this great recipe. I will definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I, too, browned up the kielbasa while the cabbage was cooking, then added it in to cook with the cabbage for about 15 or 20 minutes. I'm not a huge fan of caraway, but it really does add a lot to the flavor of this dish. Add an extra sprinkle of red pepper flakes - and it's dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
VERY GOOD AND EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgeann
Home Town: Purdy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This looked good, but the sugar ruined it for my husband and me. Loved the caraway seeds, though. I would try it again without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This exceeded my expectations. I increased the seasoning salt and added pepper just for personal taste. I found 3 tsp of caraway seeds were the perfect amount for a large head of cabbage. I changed the cooking method overall though. I first browned the sausage and added in the garlic and onions to brown as well. Then added the other ingredients on top. I added about a tablespoon of cider vinegar to brighten the flavors in the dish. Great recipe I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Everyone in my family loves this! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmarie617
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Ok, so for a true review, I made this EXACTLY as stated. It was good, but definitely would make a couple changes. First, HALF the carraway, it was just too strong for our taste. Second, it needed a little salt and pepper just to bring out the flavors. This meal tastes amazing, but the seasoning salt did not do a enough for me. When I sprinkled just a little salt and pepper on top, wow, it was great! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States