Kielbasa and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Delicious! I made it as written except I used apple juice in place of the water and sugar per another review. I suggest when buying your cabbage, choose a really green one. Mine was more creamy than green and the finished product was a little drab. BUT - great flavor and oh my husband LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
great recipe I like to add cooked egg noodles mixed in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Hanson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made this tonight. Left out the caraway seeds and substituted apple juice for the water and sugar. Amazing! I was suprised by the delicious flavor by such simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Heverly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious and easy. I substituted smoked turkey sausage for kielbasa and a pat of butter for the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onesmartcookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I always try to make a recipe the way it directs before changing it. I thought this was very tasty but I would definitely make some slight changes. First, I would cut the sausage length wise and then into smaller chunks. Second, I'd saute the sausage first, then add the liquid, seasonings, and cabbage strips. Third, instead of wedges, I quarter it, then slice them into 1/2" strips to make it easier to wilt and eat. Fourth, will definitely decrease the caraway by about 1/2. I love caraway but that was just too much for me and way more than hubby cared for. Fifth, change the water to apple cider, apple juice or even beer. Sixth, add a dollop of butter at the end, just before serving and serve with a crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Kibbe-Riddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Burger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Fantastic recipe. The caraway seeds flavor is remarkable. The caramelization of sugar is genius . The only thing I do different is add boiled potatoes , chopped into bite sized portions , along with the kielbasa for the last 30 mins. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rapidrecipe
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
What a great simple family meal. My husband is polish and we took it to a food exchange and it was a huge hit! I'm Caribbean and it loved how easy it was to make along side my curry goat! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
10 stars! This was too good for words. I was making it at night to take to my moms and my boyfriend and I ate at least half it! We couldn't get enough. I did brown the meat, add a potato and cut the caraway seed in half. This is the new football half-time favorite! Thanks for the recipe that reminds me of my Gram!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbypa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Excellent!! My husband and BOTH kids (3 and 7) LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States