Kielbasa and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My family loved this very much i will definely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Raines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I love finding a new recipe and reading other reviewers comments as to what would improve it. Many reviewers stated this dish was too sweet so I cut the sugar to one tsp. I am not a big caraway fan so used one tsp. Added 3 small potatoes, cut into pieces for 3 minutes (per many reviewers advice). I used apple cider instead of water. Next time I will use beer because it is still a very sweet dish. I browned the kielbasa in the bacon drippings. It was a very satisfying dish. My husband and I both loved it. I served it with buttermilk cornbread baked in my favorite iron skillet. Yummy! We must have liked it too much because it's supposed to feed 6 and we ate almost every bite. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Pretty good and super easy. I reduced the caraway seed to 2 instead of 3 tsps but otherwise hit it on all marks. Next time (and there will be a next time) I may reduce the sugar a little as I thought the sweetness was too apparent. Also, I might add a touch of dry mustard and sub beer for the water. All very minor changes to a pretty good dish as is, after cooking it as intended. To the side I served Chef John's oven roasted red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gravy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I was very skeptical as this recipes calls for you to pour water into hot bacon grease but it has a lot of great reviews so o figured I'd try it. Since this seemed like a really bad idea to me (water and grease/oil are not friends), I decided to put all the spices/seasonings in first. They immediately began to burn and our entire apartment filled with thick, gray smoke in a matter of seconds. Guess I should try putting in the onions first next time (mistake on my part). We're going to attempt this again now but using vegetable oil instead as we have no bacon grease left. I'll leave another review if it turns out ok. Note to the recipe poster: you should rewrite the instruction to state that the onions should be added first, not the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I'm of Polish descent, and this is EXCELLENT! I make sauteed cabbage frequently, but this is different than how I usually do it. I normally don't do the bacon/cook in the grease, but added a lot of flavor. I did follow other's suggestions as well: sauteed kielbasa to brown beforehand and added about 5 min before cabbage was done. I also had some small red potatoes that I needed to use. Cubed them, microwaved 3-4 min, and added those with the kielbasa. Don't usually do sugar, seasoned salt or red pepper flakes, but all of those are great additions! This always tastes better the next day, so I think I'll wait for the main meal! Will go great with a cold brewski! Thanks KITKATY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
my family loved it they want me to make it again it is a great meal and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Roam
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was good- very quick and easy to make. I added about a quarter cup of vinegar to give it just a little more umph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was tasty but the caraway seed was overwhelming. If I make this again I would just put the caraway seed to taste. Also didn't use the bacon. The sausage taste was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I think I will make this again just without the caraway seeds. I do not like the taste of it or anything in the family of anis. I think it is a rich recipe so if you do not like rich this is definitely not a recipe for you. Otherwise, eat a small portion of it. Those criticizing the fat contents of this recipe need to think twice if they want to eat French next time plus they better realize the origins of the recipe...The calorie content of most of the recipes at Allrecipes.com are included. All the tools for making the right choices are here. I love this website precisely because of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States