Kielbasa and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by serenitymoon
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I love this! It reminds me of living in Louisiana. I chunk the kielbasa and broil them for a few minutes, just to give them a nice crisp. I also double the "sauce." This dish is one of my favorite go-to meals, the only down side is that it's so good there are rarely any leftovers for the next day's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was a great recipe! My husband loved this dish. I followed the recipe to a tee (sometimes I try adding seasonings and tweaking things, but usually find if I follow the recipe it turns out better.) I did follow a few other reviewers advice and I browned the meat in a separate pan to get it nice a browned. I also added baby carrots and potatoes which i steamed for about 15 minutes before adding them to the last step of this recipe (where everything cooks together for about 10-15 minutes). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I tried this recipe and I use the steps that Robin Siedel suggested and wow this is a wonderful dish. I will be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made this without the caraway seeds because I don't have those, still delicious! A whole large head of cabbage wouldn't fit in my large pan, maybe I had a giant head of cabbage. 1/2 of it was more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grafenwöhr, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stacysturma
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very good! I omitted sugar and onion and used canned potatoes to save time. Also cut bacon in pieces, fried it, and just added the other ingredients to it as recipe says. Seemed to save time I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Awesome dish!! My family absolutely loved it and my youngest child usually will not eat cooked cabbage. I was out of caraway seed and it was still delicious. I cannot wait to cook it with the seeds. My bunch declared this recipe a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made the recipe exactly as written except I cut the caraway amount in half. Although my husband and I enjoyed this(served with perogies), we still felt that the caraway flavor overpowered everything. My son (who usually loves everything cabbage) did not like it. We felt, generally, that if every spoonful of cabbage had either sausage or perogie with it that it was more palatable. Unfortunately, my son still didn't agree. Definitely cut back on the caraway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was very good. I made a few changes to make it healthier. I only fried two pieces of bacon instead of six. I added four tablespoons of olive oil to make up for the rest of the bacon grease. I only added 1 tablespoon of sugar. I don't like really sugary foods. I also added a sprinkle of 100% real bacon bits and 1/4 teaspoon of regular salt when adding the onions. I used turkey kielbasa. I added another sprinkle of 100% real bacon bits at the end when crumbling the two pieces of bacon. It goes well with a baked potato on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Delishious, but probably the least healthy dinner I have ever cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I totally enjoyed this recipe and made it as written except for the sugar. I put 2 teaspoons of Splenda in and that was too much so I think I'll leave it out next time because there will definitely be next times. There is enough natural sugar in cabbage for me. I also only had a medium sized head of cabbage which made it meatier and I loved it. Loved both the caraway and the red pepper flakes. They gave it an extra great flavor. I used to make cabbage with bacon and no kielbasa and eat it over noodles. I'll be trying this over noodles next. Delicious and thanks for the recipe! By the way, in my opinion, if you don't try the recipe then you shouldn't rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States