Kielbasa and Bow Ties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Sprayed pan with cooking spray and sauteed sausage; drained as much grease as possible. Put 1 large diced onion and one diced red bell pepper in pan with sausage and cooked until the tender; sprinkled with garlic powder. Used 1 can diced tomatoes and 15 oz can tomato sauce. Cooked whole grain penne separately and added in at end of cooking time. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was a really good meal and I loved that you can just cook the pasta right along with everything else. I skipped most of the oil and got the sausage cooking first to brown it a little more. Added a little water with the pasta, but didn't need much. Also threw in some frozen broccoli and we had a very tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
i thought that this recipe was good - only needed a couple changes. i sauteed sausage with onions and added creole spice with garlic paste. once cooked added tomatoes and sauce with a little garlic salt, cumin, and italian seasoning, salt/pep etc. cooked pasta just short of aldente and added to sausage mixture for 10 min to marinate flavors. added parm at last minute. was perfect and great flavor!!! kids loved it and asked to have it as regular weekly meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Yummy! And so easy to make. I used no salt added diced tomatoes and tomato sauce. The recipe has plenty of salt from the kielbasa and Parmesan cheese. Be sure to cook the bow tie pasta ahead of time and then add to the recipe or it will soak up all the juice. I had to add just a little bit of water so it wasn't too dry. I also added a little dried basil. Next time, I think I will use no salt Italian herb diced tomatoes. Served with homemade rolls and a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I actually sort of combined two recipes for kielbasa, this one and Pinto Beans With Kielbasa with some additions and whatnot. First off, I omitted the garlic cloves and seasoned the dish with garlic powder when I salt-and-peppered it. Next, I added a diced up carrot and two stalks of celery, also diced, to the pan at the start. I used three 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes and no tomato sauce. I added a can of rinsed Great Northern beans to the mix. I added some Tex-Mex seasoning for a little kick. I followed the first step, then mixed everything except the pasta (I used large macaroni, about 1.5 or 2 cups uncooked, instead of bow ties) in the slow cooker. I cooked it on low for about 5 hours, then added the pasta which took 20 or 25 minutes to cook. It was wet enough that I didn't need to add any water. Turned out great, and reheated well. Thanks for a base recipe that's tasty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I was very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This surprised me. It was really good. It does need a little more seasoning but I like a lot of salt and garlic. It is a great way to use leftover holiday Kielbasa. It should definately be made with the bow tie pasta. I wouldn't change that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Very good! Added additional water, chicken bullion cube, green pepper and chushed red pepper to spice it up. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This recipe turned out really good! It was a change from the usual meat I use. My husband really loved it. I was looking for a way to use up my sausage. I did like someone else suggested by cooking the pasta seperate. This recipe actually tasted better the next day after the flavours mingle for a bit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Pretty good use of kielbasa. Someone was moving and gave me one so I tried this recipe. I added a green bell pepper and some dried herbs. I didn't have bow ties so I used another kind of pasta. Good and filling! Not sure if I'd make it again, but I enjoyed trying it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States