Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KLEE02
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was amazing... I doubled the recipe and placed in the crock pot instead of cooking it on the stove.. I cooked it on high for 4 hours... frying the kielbasa first. *** I made this the 2nd time, this time using low sodium broth, and low fat kielbasa... I also added sliced carrots and cubed turnips. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ekp333
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This recipe as it is written is very good, very easy and very quick! I love the salty and sweet combination! I do not think that the added salt is necessary, as kielbasa, beef broth and butter all contain salt. I have made this recipe and variations of it several times. To make it a bit more healthful, I now omit the butter and simply saute the kielbasa with the onion and then drain off the excess fat. I also omit the salt and the sour cream. It is just as yummy and I do not feel guilty eating it! To tonight's variation I added about 2 c. more cabbage, 1 c. frozen corn, 1 1/2 c. frozen cooked great northern beans (I buy dry beans, then cook and freeze them for later use), 2 medium potatoes, cubed. The beans and potatoes cook down enough to thicken the broth a bit. I served it with homemade garlic toast. DElicious! I made the garlic toast using leftover crusty bread slices which I buttered with a mixture of 4 T. softened butter mixed with 2 large cloves of garlic, minced. Placed them on a baking sheet under the broiler at high temp for about 2-3 minutes. Keep your eye on them or you'll have garlic toast flambe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekp333

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I tried this recipe and it turned out really good. It was quick, but I made it my crockpot and let it cook for about 6 hours. Next time I may add potatoes to give it added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Very good but I think next time I'll use a can of tomato sauce and a can of diced or crushed tomatoes instead of the tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
We're not big cabbage eaters but when I bought a giant bag of cole slaw from Costco, I needed to use it up! My husband requests this and my picky 13 year old likes it too! Us girls like it with sour cream, my husband without. I use turkey sausage just to cut the fat content. Great for chilly fall weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I like lots of sausage chunks so I used 2 lbs, don't care for beef broth so I substituted chicken and I threw in some cajun spice seasoning. Yummy! Hubby ate it all up and I had nothing left for lunch the next day *sigh*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I've got several variations of this recipe, and they are all GREAT! They are so quick and easy to prepare, cheap, nutritious, and you can add whever veggies you have on hand (I usually add a small diced potato and sometimes sliced zucchini). This stew works well with kielbasa, brats or Italian sausage. I use canned tomato sauce instead of tomato soup as I find the soup too sweet. I also add a little garlic powder. This recipe is SO versatile! Thanks, Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This soup turns out rather salty. I would either omit the salt or not put in the beef broth. Other than that, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
My family loved this recipe. I sauteed the kielbasa in olive oil, instead of butter. Also added a can of Great Northern Beans (undrained) and a handful of fresh spinach leaves. My husband said this was a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. St. Clair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
YUM! I absolutely LOVE this recipe. So simple, and low in calories, (and cheap by the way) yet very hearty and flavorful. I typically use turkey kielbasa and light sour cream to make it a little healthier, you would never know the difference! I also add a couple of cloves of garlic (BIG garlic lover here) and several small red potatoes. Give it a try on a cold night and serve with rolls to sop up every last drop! Thanks so much for the recipe, I'll be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States