Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'm not a great cook so I follow recipes to the 'T' -- DO NOT, I Repeat, DO NOT add salt to this. Smells great, looks great, but way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Nice flavor. I added 2 T Sugar ...trying to minic the stew from Leggs in! I used the can of tomato sause and a can of diced tomatoes based on the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BVerbosky
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This stew was incredible. I doubled the recipe and added extra kielbasa. I used 1.5 pounds mild kielbasa cut into 1 inch pieces and 1 pound spicy kielbasa removed from the casing. I sauteed the kielbasa in olive oil and butter. Rather than using 2 cans of tomato soup, I substituted a can for tomato sauce. I also added a can of Italian style tomatoes. I added two red potatoes, skinned and cubed as well as 4 chopped carrots. I did not add the salt the recipe called for. In addition to the ground black pepper, I added ground cumin and ground cayenne red pepper to taste. The stew reduced quite a bit and the sour cream was a nice touch. The only change I will make next time is to add some corn as I'm not sure it can get much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was, for me, a basic stone soup recipe. I had to add so many other things (beans, carrots, tomatoes, tomato paste, hot sauce, thyme, garlic) to give it flavor and turn it into a wonderful flavorful stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I love this recipe! I found it when my husband and I were doing low carb AND I had been given a bunch of cabbage from a friend. I'm not a big fan of cabbage, but this recipe makes it delicious. We used spicy Italian turkey sausage, great alternative to keilbasa. And we didn't use the sour cream because we didn't have any. I don't think it took away from the recipe at all without it. The cabbage reminds me of noodles, so I was in love. Interesting flavor at first, but it grew on us so quickly and it's now a family favorite. And, it's super easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Kind of bland in my opinion. I will try it again and try some fresh herbs/spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was very tasty, however I admit to altering it just a little. I didn't want the sweetness of tomato soup so I used a can of fire roasted chopped tomatoes. I did not add any additional salt and this was plenty salty, definitely use low sodium broth. Also I added a little garlic powder and instead of plain sour cream I used jalapeno sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Loved this recipe. I took other readers advise and did not add salt. I also used low sodium beef broth and added a dash of cayenne pepper. We did not add the sour cream and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very tastey recipe. Left out the salt. We figured the sausage and broth would be enough salt content, and it surely was. Next time I am going to add a little heat to it. cant wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was great. I substituted tomato paste and a can of diced tomatoes for the tomato soup. I also added a little more cabbage ( it was a package of pre-shredded cabbage for coleslaw). I added a smidge more water to compensate for the extra cabbage, and threw in a package of dry onion mushroom soup mix for fun. I thickened the stew with some wondra flour/water before adding the sour cream, and served it over instant mashed potatoes. Very comforting! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States