Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I customized this with V8 in place of tomato soup and added a can of diced fire grilled tomatoes and green chilis. This is an amazing stew! I don't like to eat left-overs, but had to eat this everyday until it was gone and was craving more. I WILL make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I have never given a 1 star review, but this was horrific. Neither my husband nor myself could eat more than a bite. I have never made a soup with so much cooked cabbage, although I typically like cabbage in moderation. But this was just disgusting. The flavor was strangely sweet, and the texture like mush. I will never make anything even remotely resembling this again. AVOID unless you absolutely love masses of cooked cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great...easy with good flavor...I added more liquid and made soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great recipe...easy to add extra ingredients if desired. I made this with cornbread and it's the perfect wintery meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
love, love, love this stew. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This is absolutely fantastic! Not everyone likes boiled cabbage but if you like it with corned beef- try this you wont be disappointed! Try adding half kielbasa and half hot links- didn't even add sour cream and the cabbage kept it pretty mellow(I do like things on the spicy side though) Try this, it's great, I will definitely make again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'm not a great cook so I follow recipes to the 'T' -- DO NOT, I Repeat, DO NOT add salt to this. Smells great, looks great, but way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Nice flavor. I added 2 T Sugar ...trying to minic the stew from Leggs in! I used the can of tomato sause and a can of diced tomatoes based on the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BVerbosky
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This stew was incredible. I doubled the recipe and added extra kielbasa. I used 1.5 pounds mild kielbasa cut into 1 inch pieces and 1 pound spicy kielbasa removed from the casing. I sauteed the kielbasa in olive oil and butter. Rather than using 2 cans of tomato soup, I substituted a can for tomato sauce. I also added a can of Italian style tomatoes. I added two red potatoes, skinned and cubed as well as 4 chopped carrots. I did not add the salt the recipe called for. In addition to the ground black pepper, I added ground cumin and ground cayenne red pepper to taste. The stew reduced quite a bit and the sour cream was a nice touch. The only change I will make next time is to add some corn as I'm not sure it can get much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was, for me, a basic stone soup recipe. I had to add so many other things (beans, carrots, tomatoes, tomato paste, hot sauce, thyme, garlic) to give it flavor and turn it into a wonderful flavorful stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States