Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This recipe was fantastic! The only tweaks I made were to use reduced sodium beef broth (which made the recipe as salty as it needed to be without adding more) and added some spices to the mix (cayenne pepper, a little chili powder, garlic, and smoked paprika) and it came out great! Also, I'm not sure about everyone else, but the recipe was done in almost half the time suggested on a low-medium heat setting. Anywho, I just finished my second serving, with a hunk of crusty bread to soak up the leftover deliciousness at the bottom of the bowl :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was great! The only changes I made were to keep the cabbage in small chunks and add cubed potatoes to make it a complete meal. I always use low salt broth when cooking so I can control the added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
SOOOOO GOOD! This is so quick and easy and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clh323
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
We truly enjoyed this. Added the extra sour cream as suggested. This is also another one of those dishes that is better after a day of aging. My first thought was that I would serve this to anybody, it's that good. I probably used 1 1/2 lbs or more of kielbasa. It was a good, coursely ground variety. Not the commercial stuff that looks like a big hot dog. It makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
So easy and oh so good!!! I made it just as is and everybody from adults to kids LOVED it! It was gone in an instant! Tastes good with or without sour cream. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
delicious meal. I didn't use the tomato soup but a jar of home canned stewed tomatoes. My husband really enjoyed this too. I will be making this again and again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was a spur of the moment dish for me to make last night. I had a huge bag of coleslaw the husband bought at the wholesale store I needed to use up. I had pretty much everything to make this in stock except the beef broth, so used my homemade chicken broth. I simmered the kielbasa with the onions and drained off the fat, there was quite a bit of it. I also liked the idea of adding in celery and diced canned tomatoes as other reviews suggested, and so glad I did since they perked the flavor up. I wanted some pasta in mine and towards the last ten minutes of simmering I threw in a cup of elbow noodles. We are not really big fans of cooked cabbage, but we all really liked this. Just topped with a dollop of sour cream and green onions for the husband and son, but I ate mine without the sour cream. I'll make this again, but will add in a bit more spices than just salt and pepper, certainly some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Very Yummy! I left out the sour cream because I didn't have any. It would be a nice addition though. I had a can of beef gravy on hand, so I used that instead of the beef broth. I also used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of the tomato soup. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hunter, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This recipe is solid as is, not knock your socks off delicious but good enough to keep in your soup recipe folder. I did not try with sour cream; just had it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This was a great stew! I took the suggestions of other reviewers and added potatoes to make it a little more hearty. Also chopped up some celery for a little crunch. I did substitute turkey kielbasa for the beef and you couldn't even tell! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States