Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I followed the recipe as written. Only short cut I took was using a bag of coleslaw rather than chopping the cabbage myself. The family voted this a keeper and we'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I'm trying to cut out carbs and processed foods, and eating the same thing over and over was getting boring. I thought this recipe would mix it up. I made it essentially as written, but added diced carrots. I cut the kielbasa thin and browned it, then sautéed the vegetables. I put that and the remaining ingredients in the crock pot. I used a bag of cole slaw mix instead of plain cabbage, and I also added a couple of fresh diced tomatoes and a small can (4 oz) of tomato sauce. I cooked it on high for 4 hours. When I tried it the first night, it was a 4 star recipe. When I had the leftovers for lunch for the next few days, it was a 5 star. Just gets better. I know it is a strange recipe, but I promise, it's absolutely delicious. The broth is amazing. But don't skip the sour cream--that gives it that extra creaminess. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I double the sausage. Used tomato sauce instead if the tomato soup, it was all I had on hand. Turned out great! Tasted better the next day after the flavones meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by Marta Martinez Rivera
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Just made this and I loved it, me being hispanic I added my homemade sofrito and sazon, I also added carrots potatoes, noodles and spinach but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta Martinez Rivera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes! I did change it a little though. I omitted the bell pepper and added colored potatoes instead. The purple ones look stunning in it! I also throw in minced garlic with the kielbasa when I brown it. My favorite cheat for this recipe though is to use a bag of coleslaw mix instead of taking time cutting the cabbage up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The ingredients here put me in mind of a gumbo type dish, I used this recipe as a starting point and went crazy!! Kielbasa, diced chicken, no cabbage, family does not like it. Loved the tomato soup, but my family loves our dishes sweet. SMALL amount of Cajun seasoning, Radiatore pasta and shrimp added at the end. AWESOME!! Will add some potato flakes next time to thicken it up a fuzz. The sour cream really does enhance it. Had with crusty French bread. Feeds my 3 teenage boys well. A new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was easy and delicious! I browned the onions and peppers with the sausage and then put everything in the crockpot on high. I used julienned coleslaw mix for the cabbage, adding an extra 1/2 cup. This not only saved time but produced a nice, almost noodle-like texture. Since my beef broth was not low-sodium, I omitted the additional salt called for in the recipe. When my husband got home about two hours later, he had some, and he reported to me when I returned home that this recipe was a keeper! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This recipe was a hit at our house! This is the second time this week that I have made it. Instead of using sour cream (as I did not have any), I added heavy cream. The result was absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Served over brown rice to make it a bit heartier. I also halved the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
We LOVE this recipe!! Nobody in my family likes tomatoe soup so we used crushed tomatoes instead of soup. Like others suggested, I added potatoes, celery and carrots. Based on other reviews - I didn't use any additional salt. Since I have to work all day and wanted this to be ready when I got home - I threw all the ingredients in a crock-pot and let it cook on low for 8 hours. FAB-U-LOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States