Kielbasa Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I'm close to giving this recipe a 2, which is rare for me. I'm pretty easy to please. I will not prepare it again without some modifications. As is, it's too dry. I may cut the kielbasa in smaller chunks for wider disbursement. I thought the taste was rather generic, and would benefit from some stronger flavors like garlic, crushed red pepper flakes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This was awesome. I have only had this recipe for about a month and I've already made it for three separate occassions. The only change I made was to use the small size ziti (mini penne). This recipe reheats up very well too..It doesn't get dry at all like some other pasta/sauce dishes do when you try to reheat the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I really liked this recipe. Next time I will double the kielbasa though. I used Colby-Jack cheese for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I found this to be very good! I did take in some of the advice from other reviewers. I used diced tomatoes with onions and added garlic and red pepper flakes when cooking the kielbasa. Would def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Orchard Beach, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Of course I changed this recipe to coordinate with what I had in the house, and my experience as a personal chef...Reduce (Rigatoni) pasta to 3/4 lb. 1. I used beef polish sausage, and fried it sans the vegetable oil (it has it's own fat to fry in) 3. I then added to the sausage 1 clove of garlic, small onion (chopped finely), small amt. of pepper for taste, parsley, pinch of crushed red pepper and cooked for 5min. I then added 1 jar of spaghetti sauce plus 1 4oz can tomato sauce, and brought to a slight boil...at which time I added 10 small frozen meatballs. Simmered for 15min stirring often. Cut the meatballs in half, and mixed with pasta in 8 by 11 glass . I added a dusting of italian style breadcrumbs, a sprinkling of cheese, and topped with italian pepperoni. Cooked uncovered for 25 min checking often to ensure that it did not dry out. There were no leftovers, and that is saying something in this family. This is an excellent starter recipe. Tweak it to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was easy and VERY budget friendly but not really a hit with this family. We didn't really care for it. My husband will usually eat what's leftover (by having seconds or sometimes even thirds) but he didn't even want his first helping--which is not a good sign. We won't be trying this again, I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
My entire family loved this recipe! I ended up inviting my mom and sister to join us for dinner, because it made so much. I had to use an 11"x14" pan instead of the 9"x13" pan the recipe calls for. It was absolutely delicious! I didn't have any trouble getting my 18-month-old son to eat it! We fixed garlic toast to go with it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Yup, It's a winner! I used dried parsley and pasta sauce instead of tomato sauce. It was great...Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLYKNOWSBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
For the most part I follwed the recipe however i did have to use some substitutions b/c I didn't have exactly what the recipe called for. I used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce and dried spices and topped w/ italien five cheese instead. I did however have to use a bigger dish as suggested by others. My husband and I loved it as well as my 11 month old. He kept making the yum yum grumble while he ate it. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States