Kielbasa Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Great tasting stew! I used turkey kielbasa. It smelled funny after reheating it the second day - not too sure whether it was the kielbasa or the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is excellent and perfect for a cold winter afternoon. It's not the easiest thing in the world to make, I find chopping all the kale a makes a big mess and draining the potato water and saving it is very difficult. Its worth all the work and we make several times each winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I just made this stew on a cloudy rainy saturday. It was PERFECT! I didn't really change much (OK, maybe I added extra kielbasa). I didn't have any garlic on hand (of course) so i through in a dash of garlic powder and that gave it some extra flavor. Otherwise it was just great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I made a change to this recipe that I think might address other reviewers' comments about watery taste. I split the kielbasa lengthwise and browned it in the same pan in which I later boiled the potatoes. I think this made my version a little richer and more flavorful (and gave a browner color). I also added a ham-flavor bouillon cube to the cooking liquid. These two things made it quite flavorful and salty enough. The really great thing about this Kielbasa Kale Stew is its versatility. It seems to accomodate a wide variety of different ingredients and still come out wonderfully. I added turnip greens (and a few little turnip pieces too) in addition to kale. I also upped the sausage to 1 lb (since it comes in 1 lb. packages!) and only used 4 large potatoes. Thanks for the tasty, inexpensive, and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
As far as Kale soup goes this is definitely 4 stars. I did make a few changes. I chose to puree the potatoes in a blender with their broth after I mashed them until smooth. I used chicken broth instead of water. Also we added one bunch of scallions chopped, 3/4 cup of very thinly sliced carrots blanched until half done, 3 cloves of garlic crushed, and 1 tsp rosemary. All of this we added to the soup when we added the sausage and kale. My family hates kale no matter how I cook it and even they said this was okay. I got my 7 year old to try half a bowl and she never eats anything but peanut butter or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I thought this was quite good, but I have to agree with the other reviewers that it required a chicken broth base or it would have been too watery. I also used a combination of potatoes and sweet potatoes, and added some corn. Mmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This recipe is very good ... however I did make a few changes. 1st I used 2 cans of chicken broth and 1 can of veggie broth to replace some of the water. 2nd I did not totally mash the potatoes just smashed them up till chunky. It was very easy to make and is really yummy!! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Very easy to make. Even the kids loved this "stew".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLWC58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I think this would be better if you substitue cabbage for the kale. But that is just because my family are not fond of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Great base for potato soup! I left out the kale but sauteed and added 2 cloves garlic, celery and soem green onions. I also added a can of corn to make this soup a little heartier. Soup is really creamy - my family could not quit eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States