Kielbasa Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
i love this recipe! i have altered it a little to be a little more healthy by using turkey kielbasa and a turnip base for the soup instead of the potatoes. i use just a half cup of potato flakes stirred in right at the end to thicken the stew up a little - add more for a little heavier texture :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Gladys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe, but my dad has been making kale soup for years and we have been tweeking it since forever-we just add kale, potatoes, onion, garlic, canned tomatoes with mild chilies, carrots, in chicken stock, simmer for an hour or so till veggies are tender, add some linguica sausage that has been simmered (to get rid of some of the grease) and a couple of cans of whatever kind of beans are on hand (pinto, kidney, white, cannelini)a few shots of hot pepper sauce, and whatever seasonings you like (salt and pepper, bay leaf, oregano, etc). sometimes I use a kielbasa or beef short ribs if thats all I have. Its really up to what you like I guess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I love this recipe but I didn't mash the potatoes up. I cubed them and left them like that in the soup. I also cooked the kale for about 15 minutes instead of thirty so it wouldn't be over done. Great soup on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I substituted chicken broth for the water and smoked sausage for the kielbasa. I also added two cloves of crushed garlic for good measure. The soup is more flavorful and no added salt is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was excited to make this recipe because it reminds me of a dish my grandfather used to make for those chilly, winter days, except he often added beans. I substituted a cup of water for a can of chicken broth, and added corn too. Also added lots more salt (at least 3 tsp.), a little more pepper, a tbsp. of minced garlic, and some garlic and pepper seasoning salt all until I got the taste to make sure it wouldn't be too watery. I also added a little more kielbasa, which adds nice flavor to the broth. Make sure you have a big pot to cook it in. Mine was the normal sized soup pot (thought it was big enough) and I could only fit in a pound of packaged kale with everything else in it, but that seemed plenty anyways. My boyfriend enjoyed it, and he's never had kale before since he's more of the meat and potatoes man. I'll definitely make this one again. Hearty, healthy, and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Just added 1 small white onion, a can of northern beans and 2 cubes of chicken bullion. Excellent hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jpav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My mom has been making "Kale Soup" for years but with Portuguese sausage, it's delicious, ours also has kidney beans in it. To thicken the broth, slightly mash some of the beans with a potato masher until most of the skins break open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe!!! It was easy and really good for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I made a few modifications as suggested by other reviewers and WOW, this was a GREAT soup. My husband hates kale, and even he loved it. I started by cutting up and browning the sausage in the soup pan. Removed and set aside, then boiled the potatoes in only 8 cups water with 2 chicken bullion cubes. I cut back the butter to 1 tbl. when I'm using real sausage (as opposed to turkey sausage) b/c I figure there's enough fat already. Any sausage will do, I've used hot and mild Italian. Once the potatoes are tender, I don't bother to reserve the liquid. Just take a hand masher and mash them in the water. I didn't use as much kale as the recipe calls for, and I also threw in some swiss and rainbow chard. This is a new favorite in our house! Update: Trying to get away from bullion cubes (have you looked at the ingredients?!) so I'm now using 4 c. homemade chicken stock and 4 c. water, plus a little more salt. Last batch had kale, chard and turnip greens, plus a few turnips mixed in with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Great tasting stew! I used turkey kielbasa. It smelled funny after reheating it the second day - not too sure whether it was the kielbasa or the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States