Kielbasa Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
A started with sauteing one chopped onion, added chicken stock instead of water and then potatoes. I brought to a boil and added the kale and kielbasa. I let simmer all day with a bay leaf and broke up the potatoes right in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I did add/change a couple of things: First, I sauteed onions and garlic in the stockpot prior to adding the potatoes. I also cut the water amount to 5 C. and added 5 C. of chicken broth. I cut the amount of pepper in half, too. I find that it's much easier to mash the potatoes in the pot without removing the water. All in all, an excellent, easy recipe - and easy to "tweak" for personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Racerwife7
Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Actually enjoyed the soup as I didn't now what to expect when eating kale. As most people suggest, I made a chicken stock ahead of time instead of using water. Definitely worth trying for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
We loved this. I added some garlic, onions and carrots. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ekp333
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
***Update: OK, used all chicken broth and no added salt this time and its too salty. Use half water and half broth!*** This soup was pretty good as written. However, next time I will use chicken broth instead of water and perhaps a few more potatoes for a thicker soup. It's a keeper, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekp333

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! He was skeptical, at first - but is now asking when I'll make it again! Based on other reviews, we changed things up, slightly ... we skipped the butter and the salt altogether (for a healthier dish) and we substituted turkey kielbasa instead of regular. We did brown the sausage first as another reader recommends and then cooked our potatoes in the same pan with 8 cups of low-sodium chicken broth (instead of water.) We also added onions and garlic to the recipe ... FANTASTIC! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Just ok. Warm and hearty, but missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
i love this recipe! i have altered it a little to be a little more healthy by using turkey kielbasa and a turnip base for the soup instead of the potatoes. i use just a half cup of potato flakes stirred in right at the end to thicken the stew up a little - add more for a little heavier texture :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Gladys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe, but my dad has been making kale soup for years and we have been tweeking it since forever-we just add kale, potatoes, onion, garlic, canned tomatoes with mild chilies, carrots, in chicken stock, simmer for an hour or so till veggies are tender, add some linguica sausage that has been simmered (to get rid of some of the grease) and a couple of cans of whatever kind of beans are on hand (pinto, kidney, white, cannelini)a few shots of hot pepper sauce, and whatever seasonings you like (salt and pepper, bay leaf, oregano, etc). sometimes I use a kielbasa or beef short ribs if thats all I have. Its really up to what you like I guess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I love this recipe but I didn't mash the potatoes up. I cubed them and left them like that in the soup. I also cooked the kale for about 15 minutes instead of thirty so it wouldn't be over done. Great soup on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States