Kielbasa Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Charlene
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made it today. Added some white wine, Worcestershire, 1/2 diced canned tomatoes and a little garlic powder. Charlene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Well, I always hate when someone rates a recipe without following it precisely, but since I gave it 5 stars, I'm going to do so with a relatively clear conscience. I read others reviews and made some changes up front. First, because I'm nothing if not lazy, after I cooked my cubed potatoes for about 20 minutes, I just mashed them up a bit in the pot. Oh, and I used chicken broth mixed with water because I just assumed that would taste better, and I think that was a good call. And I used most of a bag of collard greens instead of kale, because that's all my grocery store had the day I was there, and I follow the path of least resistance. I also did saute my polska kielbasa a little, along with some onions, and this too, seemed to work out well. We LOVED this, with a cake of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ferguson Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I loved this. I used "Better than Bouillon" in the potato cooking water/soup water and was glad I did. Because of that I omitted adding additional salt. I added a can of cannelloni beans and instantly regretted it because they were pretty mushy, right out of the can..... so I used my hand blender and blended the beans and the potatoes so they became smooth and disappeared in the stew.... that made it SO thick and yummy (and I loved the bean taste without actually eating beans) that I think I'll do that next time ... in fact I may leave out the potatoes next time and use two cans of beans, blended, to get the same effect without all the potato calories/carbs. Again, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This has become one of our new favorite dishes! I did make a couple small modifications based upon other reviews. I used pre-cooked smoked turkey sausage and sauteed it with the butter in the pan I later boiled potatoes in. Also I mashed the potatoes in the water and then put small batches in the blender to make it really creamy. I also added 2 tblsp better than bullion chicken or vegeatable flavor, carrots, celery and chopped garlic. We also REALLY love kale and are light meat eaters so I usually double the recipe except for the meat portion. This recipe is super versatile and works great with broccoli, chard, sweet potatoes or almost any other veggie you want to try. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Very nice, simple and healthy. I mashed the potatoes in the water. I like the idea how the potatoes thicken the soup. It was fine as is, but maybe a little garlic powder could be added. Perhaps some chicken broth to replace part of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made several changes, mostly in technique. First, brown the sausage in the soup pot. Remove most of the fat. Cook the potatoes in the same pot (omitting the butter). Don't drain and mash; instead, use a hand blender to puree most of them, leaving some chunks. Omit the 20 minutes of simmering-- just add the rest of the ingredients, then simmer until the kale is tender - maybe 15-20 minutes. This approach greatly shortens the overall cooking time, produces fewer dirty dishes, and leaves you with some nice potato chunks in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was quite good. I made modifications based on others' reviews. And as I came on to review this, I noticed I left out the butter! Oh well, it was very good anyhow and I DID use a little olive oil as I cut up 1 pound of kielbasa and sauted it a bit with onions and garlic before adding it to the soup. I also used chicken broth rather than water but less, probably 6 cups. I don't think I used that much kale...I used a bag of fresh kale from Trader Joe's that was already chopped. It was my first experience using kale. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
So creamy without the cream. I boiled the unpeeled cubed potatoes in the 10 cups water with a couple tablespoons chicken base then used a wand mixer to blend right in the pot. Used chard instead of Kale because that's what I had and heated that with the sliced keilbasa for another 20 minutes. So delicious! Finally found a meal using dark leafy greens that my husband really likes. Even my 3 year old gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is an absolute keeper! I sauteed my kielbaska with onion and fresh garlic in EVOO before adding it to the soup. OMG YUMMY! =~>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Great basic recipe! I followed other reviewers in using broth (vegetable) and sauteeing my veggies (garlic, celery, kale) and sliced pre-cooked pork sausage (Niman Ranch Bratwurst) in a bit of olive oil. Didn't have any onions on hand, but turned out great anyways! Also found it helpful to thicken the soup with instant tapioca (I think it's called Minute Tapioca). Thanks for the recipe & helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States