Kielbasa Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My mom has been making "Kale Soup" for years but with Portuguese sausage, it's delicious, ours also has kidney beans in it. To thicken the broth, slightly mash some of the beans with a potato masher until most of the skins break open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I just made this stew on a cloudy rainy saturday. It was PERFECT! I didn't really change much (OK, maybe I added extra kielbasa). I didn't have any garlic on hand (of course) so i through in a dash of garlic powder and that gave it some extra flavor. Otherwise it was just great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This soup was delicious, I love finding a great soup that is also good for you & low in fat. I used turkey sausage. Very Important: increase salt to about 2 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is excellent and perfect for a cold winter afternoon. It's not the easiest thing in the world to make, I find chopping all the kale a makes a big mess and draining the potato water and saving it is very difficult. Its worth all the work and we make several times each winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I made a few modifications as suggested by other reviewers and WOW, this was a GREAT soup. My husband hates kale, and even he loved it. I started by cutting up and browning the sausage in the soup pan. Removed and set aside, then boiled the potatoes in only 8 cups water with 2 chicken bullion cubes. I cut back the butter to 1 tbl. when I'm using real sausage (as opposed to turkey sausage) b/c I figure there's enough fat already. Any sausage will do, I've used hot and mild Italian. Once the potatoes are tender, I don't bother to reserve the liquid. Just take a hand masher and mash them in the water. I didn't use as much kale as the recipe calls for, and I also threw in some swiss and rainbow chard. This is a new favorite in our house! Update: Trying to get away from bullion cubes (have you looked at the ingredients?!) so I'm now using 4 c. homemade chicken stock and 4 c. water, plus a little more salt. Last batch had kale, chard and turnip greens, plus a few turnips mixed in with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Simple and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I make this dish but I use smoked sausage with cheese and put the Kale over top of the potatoes and the sausage on top of the kale. When the potatoes are done I remove the sausage , drain and mash and then serve with the sausage. I use whatever amount of kale I feel will do the trick to make this tasty dish. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Very good recipe. I cook for a pre-school (3 to 5 year olds) and made this for a cooks choice. That kids loved it. I did add some chopped onion, added some evaporated milk as substitute for part of the water and used turkey kielbasa. It was a big hit with the adults too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Great base for potato soup! I left out the kale but sauteed and added 2 cloves garlic, celery and soem green onions. I also added a can of corn to make this soup a little heartier. Soup is really creamy - my family could not quit eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe!!! It was easy and really good for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States