Kielbasa Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
As far as Kale soup goes this is definitely 4 stars. I did make a few changes. I chose to puree the potatoes in a blender with their broth after I mashed them until smooth. I used chicken broth instead of water. Also we added one bunch of scallions chopped, 3/4 cup of very thinly sliced carrots blanched until half done, 3 cloves of garlic crushed, and 1 tsp rosemary. All of this we added to the soup when we added the sausage and kale. My family hates kale no matter how I cook it and even they said this was okay. I got my 7 year old to try half a bowl and she never eats anything but peanut butter or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I made a few modifications as suggested by other reviewers and WOW, this was a GREAT soup. My husband hates kale, and even he loved it. I started by cutting up and browning the sausage in the soup pan. Removed and set aside, then boiled the potatoes in only 8 cups water with 2 chicken bullion cubes. I cut back the butter to 1 tbl. when I'm using real sausage (as opposed to turkey sausage) b/c I figure there's enough fat already. Any sausage will do, I've used hot and mild Italian. Once the potatoes are tender, I don't bother to reserve the liquid. Just take a hand masher and mash them in the water. I didn't use as much kale as the recipe calls for, and I also threw in some swiss and rainbow chard. This is a new favorite in our house! Update: Trying to get away from bullion cubes (have you looked at the ingredients?!) so I'm now using 4 c. homemade chicken stock and 4 c. water, plus a little more salt. Last batch had kale, chard and turnip greens, plus a few turnips mixed in with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I made a change to this recipe that I think might address other reviewers' comments about watery taste. I split the kielbasa lengthwise and browned it in the same pan in which I later boiled the potatoes. I think this made my version a little richer and more flavorful (and gave a browner color). I also added a ham-flavor bouillon cube to the cooking liquid. These two things made it quite flavorful and salty enough. The really great thing about this Kielbasa Kale Stew is its versatility. It seems to accomodate a wide variety of different ingredients and still come out wonderfully. I added turnip greens (and a few little turnip pieces too) in addition to kale. I also upped the sausage to 1 lb (since it comes in 1 lb. packages!) and only used 4 large potatoes. Thanks for the tasty, inexpensive, and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Very good recipe. I cook for a pre-school (3 to 5 year olds) and made this for a cooks choice. That kids loved it. I did add some chopped onion, added some evaporated milk as substitute for part of the water and used turkey kielbasa. It was a big hit with the adults too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This soup was delicious, I love finding a great soup that is also good for you & low in fat. I used turkey sausage. Very Important: increase salt to about 2 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My mom has been making "Kale Soup" for years but with Portuguese sausage, it's delicious, ours also has kidney beans in it. To thicken the broth, slightly mash some of the beans with a potato masher until most of the skins break open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was quite good. I made modifications based on others' reviews. And as I came on to review this, I noticed I left out the butter! Oh well, it was very good anyhow and I DID use a little olive oil as I cut up 1 pound of kielbasa and sauted it a bit with onions and garlic before adding it to the soup. I also used chicken broth rather than water but less, probably 6 cups. I don't think I used that much kale...I used a bag of fresh kale from Trader Joe's that was already chopped. It was my first experience using kale. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This recipe is very good ... however I did make a few changes. 1st I used 2 cans of chicken broth and 1 can of veggie broth to replace some of the water. 2nd I did not totally mash the potatoes just smashed them up till chunky. It was very easy to make and is really yummy!! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I enjoyed this soup -- but my family thought it was disgusting. So you really have to like kale to try this one. Very tasty, but the potato base was more watery than I was expecting. I also added much more salt -- about 3 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I halved the recipe as I only had 1 bunch of kale left. Omitted the butter and used half chicken broth so I ommited the salt as well. Browned the sausage first. Came out great! I think it really need the chicken broth though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States