Kielbasa Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This soup was delicious, I love finding a great soup that is also good for you & low in fat. I used turkey sausage. Very Important: increase salt to about 2 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I liked this a lot, but my kids wanted much more kielbasa in it. I also used frozen chopped kale which made it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I enjoyed this soup -- but my family thought it was disgusting. So you really have to like kale to try this one. Very tasty, but the potato base was more watery than I was expecting. I also added much more salt -- about 3 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Simple and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I agree with one of the other reviewers, it was very watery. Next time will use chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I make this dish but I use smoked sausage with cheese and put the Kale over top of the potatoes and the sausage on top of the kale. When the potatoes are done I remove the sausage , drain and mash and then serve with the sausage. I use whatever amount of kale I feel will do the trick to make this tasty dish. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Very good recipe. I cook for a pre-school (3 to 5 year olds) and made this for a cooks choice. That kids loved it. I did add some chopped onion, added some evaporated milk as substitute for part of the water and used turkey kielbasa. It was a big hit with the adults too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Great base for potato soup! I left out the kale but sauteed and added 2 cloves garlic, celery and soem green onions. I also added a can of corn to make this soup a little heartier. Soup is really creamy - my family could not quit eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I think this would be better if you substitue cabbage for the kale. But that is just because my family are not fond of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Very easy to make. Even the kids loved this "stew".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLWC58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States