Kielbasa Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
As far as Kale soup goes this is definitely 4 stars. I did make a few changes. I chose to puree the potatoes in a blender with their broth after I mashed them until smooth. I used chicken broth instead of water. Also we added one bunch of scallions chopped, 3/4 cup of very thinly sliced carrots blanched until half done, 3 cloves of garlic crushed, and 1 tsp rosemary. All of this we added to the soup when we added the sausage and kale. My family hates kale no matter how I cook it and even they said this was okay. I got my 7 year old to try half a bowl and she never eats anything but peanut butter or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I thought this was quite good, but I have to agree with the other reviewers that it required a chicken broth base or it would have been too watery. I also used a combination of potatoes and sweet potatoes, and added some corn. Mmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This recipe is very good ... however I did make a few changes. 1st I used 2 cans of chicken broth and 1 can of veggie broth to replace some of the water. 2nd I did not totally mash the potatoes just smashed them up till chunky. It was very easy to make and is really yummy!! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Very easy to make. Even the kids loved this "stew".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLWC58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I think this would be better if you substitue cabbage for the kale. But that is just because my family are not fond of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Great base for potato soup! I left out the kale but sauteed and added 2 cloves garlic, celery and soem green onions. I also added a can of corn to make this soup a little heartier. Soup is really creamy - my family could not quit eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Very good recipe. I cook for a pre-school (3 to 5 year olds) and made this for a cooks choice. That kids loved it. I did add some chopped onion, added some evaporated milk as substitute for part of the water and used turkey kielbasa. It was a big hit with the adults too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I make this dish but I use smoked sausage with cheese and put the Kale over top of the potatoes and the sausage on top of the kale. When the potatoes are done I remove the sausage , drain and mash and then serve with the sausage. I use whatever amount of kale I feel will do the trick to make this tasty dish. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I agree with one of the other reviewers, it was very watery. Next time will use chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Simple and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States