Kielbasa Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made 2 cups of chicken broth and put in 2 cups of water with my (fewer) potatoes, then after I mashed the potatoes I mixed in the broth. I fried onions in olive oil in another pan and then added them with the chicken stock, as well as a clove of garlic. I let that simmer for a while then added the kielbasa, kale, and spices: black pepper, cayenne pepper, and thyme. It was a bit salty with the broth and kielbasa, but still delicious. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I halved the recipe as I only had 1 bunch of kale left. Omitted the butter and used half chicken broth so I ommited the salt as well. Browned the sausage first. Came out great! I think it really need the chicken broth though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
really tasty, loved this! will be making it again with the rest of the kielbasa in the freezer. thanks! oh and i added a can of kidney beans for something extra thanks to the comment from another person =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
my bf and daughter liked it so that is always a 5 star rating!! yummy thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina Sikora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
A started with sauteing one chopped onion, added chicken stock instead of water and then potatoes. I brought to a boil and added the kale and kielbasa. I let simmer all day with a bay leaf and broke up the potatoes right in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I did add/change a couple of things: First, I sauteed onions and garlic in the stockpot prior to adding the potatoes. I also cut the water amount to 5 C. and added 5 C. of chicken broth. I cut the amount of pepper in half, too. I find that it's much easier to mash the potatoes in the pot without removing the water. All in all, an excellent, easy recipe - and easy to "tweak" for personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Racerwife7
Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Actually enjoyed the soup as I didn't now what to expect when eating kale. As most people suggest, I made a chicken stock ahead of time instead of using water. Definitely worth trying for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
We loved this. I added some garlic, onions and carrots. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ekp333
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
***Update: OK, used all chicken broth and no added salt this time and its too salty. Use half water and half broth!*** This soup was pretty good as written. However, next time I will use chicken broth instead of water and perhaps a few more potatoes for a thicker soup. It's a keeper, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekp333

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! He was skeptical, at first - but is now asking when I'll make it again! Based on other reviews, we changed things up, slightly ... we skipped the butter and the salt altogether (for a healthier dish) and we substituted turkey kielbasa instead of regular. We did brown the sausage first as another reader recommends and then cooked our potatoes in the same pan with 8 cups of low-sodium chicken broth (instead of water.) We also added onions and garlic to the recipe ... FANTASTIC! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States