Kielbasa Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I halved the recipe but did add more sausage(12 oz pkg). I browned it in pan and then set aside. I did use ckn broth for water and sauteed onion and garlic to add to broth for potatoes. Glad I did, or else the flavor would have been bland. You can mash the potatoes right in the broth. Ended up thick so I had to add water. If I make again, I'll have to add more onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Definitely a go-to soup on chilly fall/winter days. This recipe was a good start, but as with many other reviewers I made several modifications. 6 red potatoes, not peeled, sliced into thin rounds - 2T butter - 10 c broth - 2T salt - 1t pepper - 1/2t crushed red pepper - 1/2 c diced onion - 1t minced garlic - kale bunch - 1 lb diced carrot - 1 lb turkey kielbasa. Sautéed kielbasa, onion, and garlic, then added all remaining ingredients and simmered for about an hour. The potatoes broke apart nicely so I didn't mash them any further before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wholefoodswholelife
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I'm rating this a four because I didn't actually make it the way it says to. I liked the premise of the recipe but made some changes cause we LOVE flavor!! First I cut up and sautéed the kielbasa, set it aside, added the butter and sautéed 1/2 an onion and 2cloves if garlic. Added a quart of homemade chicken broth and 3cups of water. Added potatoes + dashes of salt, garlic salt, pepper and about 1/4 tsp rosemary. When potatoes were close to tender I added 1/2 cup milk and kielbasa. Let summer 10 mins. Added kale til slightly past wilted. Super delish!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlene
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made it today. Added some white wine, Worcestershire, 1/2 diced canned tomatoes and a little garlic powder. Charlene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Well, I always hate when someone rates a recipe without following it precisely, but since I gave it 5 stars, I'm going to do so with a relatively clear conscience. I read others reviews and made some changes up front. First, because I'm nothing if not lazy, after I cooked my cubed potatoes for about 20 minutes, I just mashed them up a bit in the pot. Oh, and I used chicken broth mixed with water because I just assumed that would taste better, and I think that was a good call. And I used most of a bag of collard greens instead of kale, because that's all my grocery store had the day I was there, and I follow the path of least resistance. I also did saute my polska kielbasa a little, along with some onions, and this too, seemed to work out well. We LOVED this, with a cake of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ferguson Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I loved this. I used "Better than Bouillon" in the potato cooking water/soup water and was glad I did. Because of that I omitted adding additional salt. I added a can of cannelloni beans and instantly regretted it because they were pretty mushy, right out of the can..... so I used my hand blender and blended the beans and the potatoes so they became smooth and disappeared in the stew.... that made it SO thick and yummy (and I loved the bean taste without actually eating beans) that I think I'll do that next time ... in fact I may leave out the potatoes next time and use two cans of beans, blended, to get the same effect without all the potato calories/carbs. Again, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This has become one of our new favorite dishes! I did make a couple small modifications based upon other reviews. I used pre-cooked smoked turkey sausage and sauteed it with the butter in the pan I later boiled potatoes in. Also I mashed the potatoes in the water and then put small batches in the blender to make it really creamy. I also added 2 tblsp better than bullion chicken or vegeatable flavor, carrots, celery and chopped garlic. We also REALLY love kale and are light meat eaters so I usually double the recipe except for the meat portion. This recipe is super versatile and works great with broccoli, chard, sweet potatoes or almost any other veggie you want to try. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Very nice, simple and healthy. I mashed the potatoes in the water. I like the idea how the potatoes thicken the soup. It was fine as is, but maybe a little garlic powder could be added. Perhaps some chicken broth to replace part of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made several changes, mostly in technique. First, brown the sausage in the soup pot. Remove most of the fat. Cook the potatoes in the same pot (omitting the butter). Don't drain and mash; instead, use a hand blender to puree most of them, leaving some chunks. Omit the 20 minutes of simmering-- just add the rest of the ingredients, then simmer until the kale is tender - maybe 15-20 minutes. This approach greatly shortens the overall cooking time, produces fewer dirty dishes, and leaves you with some nice potato chunks in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was quite good. I made modifications based on others' reviews. And as I came on to review this, I noticed I left out the butter! Oh well, it was very good anyhow and I DID use a little olive oil as I cut up 1 pound of kielbasa and sauted it a bit with onions and garlic before adding it to the soup. I also used chicken broth rather than water but less, probably 6 cups. I don't think I used that much kale...I used a bag of fresh kale from Trader Joe's that was already chopped. It was my first experience using kale. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States