Kielbasa Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
You'd think that this was a really weird combo of ingredients. It isn't. I stumbled upon this looking for uses of leftover rice-- and decided to try it. April Jr. has texture issues w/ fried rice, so I thought that all the vegetable matter would counteract the rice texture-- and it did. My two substitutions: 1) turkey kielbsa instead of regular 2)instead of the 1/4 head of cabbage grated, I used pre-shredded broccoli slaw. I grated the carrots, and put in equal volume of the broccoli slaw. Also-- I ended up cooking this dish in a wok, because our lidded skillets were too small to hold all the ingredients. A final note: don't worry if you find things sticking to the bottom of the skillet/wok during the stirfry process. The lid on (and stirring every 2 min) in the final 10 min. of cooking phase does wonders for loosening up whatever had stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Conquest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
We love this recipe! I don't really modify it that much. I made it exactly as the recipe reads the first time and pretty much every time. I just use a bag of coleslaw instead of chopping my own cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The Kielbasa Fried Rice is absolutely DELICIOUS!! Instead of buying a head of cabbage and carrots separately, I used a cole slaw mix. I cooked the sausage and onions together because I wanted the sausage to be brown. Since the recipe mentioned that the raw egg should be added to the fried rice, and allow the eggs to scramble, I cooked the eggs in a different pan, and added that to the fried rice. I served it with green onions ontop-along with some egg rolls. Making the fried rice was simple to make, and it's a great way to use leftover rice from the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdramaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Yummo! Perfect as-is. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I wouldn't call this an exceptional dish, but it is an easy, tasty way to use up leftover white rice from Chinese takeout. And, since leftover white rice means I've had Chinese food recently, I appreciate that the kielbasa changes the flavor profile a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
my whole family loved it. i cooked the kielbasa with the onions that was the only change i made. my kids even asked for seconds and didnt complain when we had it the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Awesome! I am not a huge fan of sausage but I wanted to follow the recipe first before I made changes. The family LOVED this! I have added this to my recipe box and will be making this again.. maybe I'll try chicken or shrimp next time. I had a broccoli/carrot mix (like a slaw mix) on hand so that's what I used. Excellent! Oh - and you can never go wrong with the Padang Peanut Sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abigtadoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
My wife told me I need to cook more often after making this. :) I used less cabbage, fewer carrots and substituted white rice for jasmine rice. What a wonderful meal that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This recipe was ok, but adding eggs into the rice is completely unnecessary. It did not add to the dish's quality. My wife hated the egg. Other than that, it's an ok recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is a dish we make more often these days. I would re-emphasize using left-over rice as opposed to fresh rice. Also, you probably don't need the oil; the sausage we use has enough oil so I brown the meat first and then fry everything in the sausage oil. The trick is getting flavorful, spicy sausage (if you don't use kielbasa), which adds more flavor because otherwise it's bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States