Kielbasa Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I normally shy away from recipes that call for canned soup or bottled sauces as an ingredient, but I was intrigued by all the good reviews this recipe got. I should have followed my instincts. Maybe it was the brand of alfredo sauce I purchased, but it was a well-known, high-end brand. I should have tasted it before I dumped it into the pan. It had no flavor that came close to alfredo sauce, and the texture was gluey, almost gelatinous. I tried to fix it by adding some milk and some sauted onions and garlic, but it was no use. My husband ate his, but then he'll eat anything. I definitely will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This recipe was too perfect tonight! I was standing in the kitchen with a jar of alfredo in my hand wondering what to do with it. I checked here and this was #2- and I just bought some smoked sausage yesterday! I had the Roasted Garlic Alfredo by Classico which gave it an interesting flavor. I'll definitely be making this again and I plan on trying it with different types of alfredo. I omitted any additional salt since alfredo & kielbasa can be salty all on their own. Try it with fresh grated parmesan cheese on top- yum! I thought about adding peas but opted to stick to the original recipe- I can't imagine it would taste anything less than delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe was good. I tweeked it just a little. After I browned the sausage I took it out of the pan and then drained the fat and added 1tbsp of butter and a minced clove of garlic. I sauted it for less than a minute. Then I added the sausage back in, then the alfredo sauce and I used No-Yolk Kluski noodles. It was very good. My two year old son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lansing, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 but I think that ingredient choices could have something to do with that. I used Ragu Lite Alfredo sauce and a turkey smoked kielbasa sausage. I used mini penne pasta because that part didn't really matter. The flavor was good, but the sauce I think was a little thick or rich even for a "lite" sauce. I should have thinned it with some milk and/or dry white wine. I did add garlic while sauteeing the sausage and also to the sauce. I think some Italian flat leaf parsley would work with this and maybe even a smidge of spinach that is wilted in the pasta water. I may try that next time. This is a little bit like spaghetti carbonara, but I like the carbonara better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made homemade alfredo sauce and added chopped mushrooms, peppers, onion and garlic. I can't imagine using a jarred sauce when making a homemade one is so much better. With my additions, it was quick and tasty with enough for my husband to have seconds and lunch for me tomorrow. NOTE: This was a cheap dish to make. Buying most of the vegetables and pasta at Grocery Outlet and using coupons from the Sunday paper for the kielbasa, this made a very filling meal for very little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Very good and easy. I used smoked sausage instead of polska kielbasa and used a four-cheese alfredo sauce. Also used olive oil instead of butter to fry the sausage. Very similar to stroganoff. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Rating this low because the sauce in the jar is gruesome! I had some from a hurricane stash and needed to use it up. Wow, what a disappointment. Here's a wonderful recipe for homemade alfredo sauce, with ingredients you can pronounce! (unlike those on the jar.) Melt 8 tbsp real, unsalted butter in a large pan. Add 16oz heavy whipping cream, 3 cloves minced garlic, and stir well to combine. Let simmer until large, shiny bubbles form, then add previously sauteed mushrooms, and 5 green onions, cut up with scissors into tiny circles. Stir to combine, let simmer 2 minutes, then serve over your favorite cooked pasta. Simple, delicious, and amazing! You can also add sauteed shrimp or your favorite protein to round-out the meal. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was good. We used turkey kielbasa and a jar and a half of alfredo sauce. We also used ziti because we didn't have egg noodles. I think it worked well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was really good! Could be on the menu at Olive Garden! I added some onions & mushrooms while the sausage was cooking. Rinsed the alfredo jar with about 1/2 cup of white wine. Simmered all that together while the bow ties finished cooking. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmare, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great product that can be prepared in short time. I used classico sun dried tomato alfredo sauce instead of plain alfredo sauce. Served with garlic bread and ceaser salad. Great Meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States