Kid's Favorite Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Delicious, nutritious, easy and my girls loved it. I had to add more chicken broth though and didn't have the chervil - it was good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Delicious. I made it in a pot on the stove rather than in a pressure cooker. Needed more water/chicken stock but that is just the cooking method I think. Was making this for me not kids so I added some Louisiana seasoning, really gave it a lift. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I basically make the same soup in the oven. Add a ham bone (or not), 2 1/4 cups of split peas, 8 cups of water, veggies and spices, bake covered 2 hours at 350, do not peek. Take out of oven, blend or use immersion blender, add Kielbasa or ham, bake 30 mins more. I do not add potatoe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I LOVED this version of Split Pea Soup! I did it in the pressure cooker because I didn't have the time to wait using the conventional method. I needed extra liquid and used both organic chicken and vegetable broth during the cooking of the potatoes, carrots and spices. Also, I did not have any Chervil so I used 1 tsp of tarragon and 1 tsp of parsley in its place. Came out great! Loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Loved this. Used parsley instead of chervil. This makes more like 8 - 10 servings, not 4 - 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Well, the kids (2 and 4 yrs old) were not crazy about it, but my husband was, me too, so maybe this will appeal more to "big kids". I had to add extra liquid for re-heating, and pureed everything. Also used ham instead of backon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
I liked it better made with ham stock instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I loved this and even my split-pea-hating boyfriend was happy to eat it several times so it can't be bad. All the veggies gave it a nice complexity. It comes out pretty thick though, not very soupy. (Which is not necessarily a bad thing.) The leftovers thickened up so much in the fridge that I served them as a chunky spread on baguettes. Enjoyed it a lot both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
well, I subbed a diced ham steak for the bacon, and used sodium free stock since I was making this for someone on a VERY low sodium diet. The flavors were actually much clearer w/o the salt, but I added a little to my serving. Really good ingredient portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I added kielbasa to mine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States