Kid's Favorite Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This recipe, in it's completion, was worth four stars but here's my kaveot; IF YOU DON'T HAVE A PRESSURE COOKER FIND A DIFFERENT RECIPE!!! Contrary to the little side note about cooking your peas for a few hours if you're sans pressure cooker, this recipe took me the better part of a day and a half! I ended up using almost three cartons of stock! As I said, it was tasty but not particularly convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
I liked it better made with ham stock instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I loved this and even my split-pea-hating boyfriend was happy to eat it several times so it can't be bad. All the veggies gave it a nice complexity. It comes out pretty thick though, not very soupy. (Which is not necessarily a bad thing.) The leftovers thickened up so much in the fridge that I served them as a chunky spread on baguettes. Enjoyed it a lot both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Delicious, nutritious, easy and my girls loved it. I had to add more chicken broth though and didn't have the chervil - it was good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Delicious. I made it in a pot on the stove rather than in a pressure cooker. Needed more water/chicken stock but that is just the cooking method I think. Was making this for me not kids so I added some Louisiana seasoning, really gave it a lift. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Well, the kids (2 and 4 yrs old) were not crazy about it, but my husband was, me too, so maybe this will appeal more to "big kids". I had to add extra liquid for re-heating, and pureed everything. Also used ham instead of backon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I LOVED this version of Split Pea Soup! I did it in the pressure cooker because I didn't have the time to wait using the conventional method. I needed extra liquid and used both organic chicken and vegetable broth during the cooking of the potatoes, carrots and spices. Also, I did not have any Chervil so I used 1 tsp of tarragon and 1 tsp of parsley in its place. Came out great! Loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
well, I subbed a diced ham steak for the bacon, and used sodium free stock since I was making this for someone on a VERY low sodium diet. The flavors were actually much clearer w/o the salt, but I added a little to my serving. Really good ingredient portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I basically make the same soup in the oven. Add a ham bone (or not), 2 1/4 cups of split peas, 8 cups of water, veggies and spices, bake covered 2 hours at 350, do not peek. Take out of oven, blend or use immersion blender, add Kielbasa or ham, bake 30 mins more. I do not add potatoe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I don't have a pressure cooker, so I cooked on the stove, and it took about 3 1/2 hours. If you are using this method, give your potatoes and carrots more than 15 minutes, as the soup is very thick and simmering doesn't cook the veggies enough in just 15 minutes. I subbed 1 t. tarragon for the chervil (I don't care for chervil.) It did require A LOT of thinning down. It was okay. Nobody objected to eating it. But the flavor wasn't anything special. I think I could tweak it to make it more to my taste, but I didn't like it well enough to try. The potatoes and carrots do give it a nice substance though. If you are a fan of pea soup, give it a try. (I can't imagine this being a kid's favorite though. My kids were not picky eaters, but I'm sure they would not have cared much for this soup as children!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States